I'm confused - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2005, 01:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default I'm confused

OK I was thinking about geting the 6600 GT then NO and then yes so I decided just to ask you guys front up I have a 1.33 GHZ AMD Xp and I want a video card that my CPU won't bottleneck it greatly maybe a bit but I want a card that *dreams* run Half life 2 on high but medium is what I'm thinking I'll get but please help me I'm so confused. I play America's army, counter strike, Diablo 2 ( no graphically powered much), Doom 3 , and Half life 2.
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 02:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

you have to get a 6600gt

anything lower than that isn't worth the money

especially with the 1.33ghz you'll need it
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 02:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I'd seriously suggest saving up a lot of cash and upgrading your CPU, mobo, and RAM.....your PSU should be good enough to handle it, but seriously dude you'd be bottlenecking the crap out of even a 6600GT. Although it'd be able to play the games, the load times for you would suck *** with a weak CPU and that little amount of RAM
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 05:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 417
Default

just buy a 6600 youl be able to play everything with that
__________________

sig made by pzerofgh
PCmark04 - 5192
3Dmark05 - 4068
Todd0 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 10:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

OK i guess the 6600 GT is it. As stated before it won't be long until I upgrade my CPU/Mobo
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 10:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Also I was thinking about doing Evga's step up program to the 6800 GT or should I take that money and stat saving up for cpu/mobo/ram?Or will the 6600 GT last me a while and I won't need the 6800 GT.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 10:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

My friend has a Pentium "1.something" (a low number like 1.3), much like you. But, he has overclocked that CPU considerably. But, along with his 9800 pro, it plays HL2 smoothly. I am sure the settings were far from being the highest, but it was quite playable. So, you should still be able to play HL2.. But I doubt on high with that CPU.

That being said, u should definitely upgrade ur CPU soon. ... It will definitely be "some kind of" bottleneck.
Chankama is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 10:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

well yes but should I "step it Up" or just change the CPU/Mobo/ram with the money I get from relatives?
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 10:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

If you "know" you'll be getting the 6800 GT (like 85%) sure, just buy it man. You'll waste some money with the step-up program. The eVga website doesn't give u the "best deal" available .. I believe it's listed at $399?.. If you really "need" a vid card, but wanna test out the 6600 GT, just go to Best Buy, buy it, return it in a month and just get the 6800 GT (or whatever) from newegg ..

My buddy does this all the time with digital cameras. Every formal, semi formal/jam we have, buddy goes out and "borrows" a digital camera. What a guy. Keep letting him do it too :-\..

EDIT: if u go along this route, verify their full refund return policy! lol
Chankama is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 10:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Look into the future. Buy a better card now even though it will be bottlenecked. Now in the future, you can upgrade the rest to bring out your system and the video card. Get it?
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.