If I flash the BIOS, will it get rid of the BIOS Password - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2004, 05:40 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Check the MBD book or website. Some MBD's have a jumper for protection so bios is not 'accidently' flashed. On the MBD you'll see a few different settings (all may be there or some maynot, depends). One will say Recovery and 2 numbers after it (depicting the pins to cover with the jumper)... that is for flashing the bios. Some have a pin setting for 'Reset' and MAY even say 'Password'. Whatever number is after that is what you cover with the jumper cap. Not to say your dumb or anything, but DO NOT just start moving jumpers around. Dont remember what MBD you said it was or how old, but thats also a good way to change the voltage and kill something. Just look for the etching on the mother board the says what was listed above. Look for reset or password first. Make SURE you turn the computer off and unplug it. Once you have reset covered (or whatever) then turn it back on. It should beep a few times and then take you right into the bios OR it will say 'Bios reset to default'... follow whatever it says. More than likely it wont take you back into the bios, if it does just make sure the password protection is cleared. If not or after reseting the bios, power back down and set the jumper back to its original position. Make note of where it was to begin with (probably Normal config).
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 07:00 AM   #22 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

hmm
__________________

cheerios is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 03:51 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 270
Send a message via AIM to tylertherobot Send a message via Yahoo to tylertherobot
Default

lol, sorry, but, RTFM! RTFM!!!RRRRTTTTFFFFMMMM!!!!!!!!!!
i need to have an excuse to scream that every once in awhile
__________________
New PC (Finished May 4, 2004)
Athlon XP 2800+
Soyo Dragon ultra Platinum KT600
1024 MB Kingston Hyper-X
120GB 7200 RPM 8MB
160GB 7200 RPM 2MB
GeForce FX5500 256MB
16x DVD
16x52x32x52 DVD/CDRW Combo
tylertherobot is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 06:41 AM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

huh? wads rtfm?
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 03:24 PM   #25 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 270
Send a message via AIM to tylertherobot Send a message via Yahoo to tylertherobot
Default

rtfm = read the er..freaking manual. yeah. freaking.
__________________

__________________
New PC (Finished May 4, 2004)
Athlon XP 2800+
Soyo Dragon ultra Platinum KT600
1024 MB Kingston Hyper-X
120GB 7200 RPM 8MB
160GB 7200 RPM 2MB
GeForce FX5500 256MB
16x DVD
16x52x32x52 DVD/CDRW Combo
tylertherobot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.