If I flash the BIOS, will it get rid of the BIOS Password - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2004, 05:06 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 270
Send a message via AIM to tylertherobot Send a message via Yahoo to tylertherobot
Default

Then they can buy a new mobo problem solved
__________________

__________________
New PC (Finished May 4, 2004)
Athlon XP 2800+
Soyo Dragon ultra Platinum KT600
1024 MB Kingston Hyper-X
120GB 7200 RPM 8MB
160GB 7200 RPM 2MB
GeForce FX5500 256MB
16x DVD
16x52x32x52 DVD/CDRW Combo
tylertherobot is offline  
Old 04-10-2004, 05:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 270
Send a message via AIM to tylertherobot Send a message via Yahoo to tylertherobot
Default

Oh - the jumper is usually placed close to the battery
__________________

__________________
New PC (Finished May 4, 2004)
Athlon XP 2800+
Soyo Dragon ultra Platinum KT600
1024 MB Kingston Hyper-X
120GB 7200 RPM 8MB
160GB 7200 RPM 2MB
GeForce FX5500 256MB
16x DVD
16x52x32x52 DVD/CDRW Combo
tylertherobot is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 01:09 AM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

thx it helped haha, it sounds more like overwriting... is it?
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 01:30 AM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

thx man for the info, but erm it kinda sounds more like overwriting the bios by patching it
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 07:25 AM   #15 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FireFox
Here's the easy way to do it! Just open up the case, take out the battery...wait 30 seconds or so...then put it back in...turn on the computer and the problem is solved...
No offence, but I have NEVER have been successful with doing that trick.

Quote:
Originally posted by cheerios
What do you mean by flashing the Bios?
Loading a new version of the BIOS on to the motherboard.

Quote:
Originally posted by cheerios
hmm nobdy has answered my question yet
That because i have been in a middle of a UT2k4 Lan party for the last 24 hours.

Quote:
Originally posted by tylertherobot
Then they can buy a new mobo problem solved
Not my computer. Nor am I a charity organisation.

Quote:
Originally posted by cheerios
thx man for the info, but erm it kinda sounds more like overwriting the bios by patching it
Some thing like that. Most of the time BIOS Upgrades are just there to allow people to put the newer processors and hard drives on the motherboard. How ever there is some errors that it also fixes too.

I only flash my bios when I have too. My boss seems to insist that the BIOS's are up to the latest version all the time.

Personally, I do like flashing the bios via DOS and not some of the windows apps that are out there.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 07:36 AM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

hmm when u flash ur bios, wad happens to ur C drive?
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 07:44 AM   #17 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cheerios
hmm when u flash ur bios, wad happens to ur C drive?
Nothing.

Personally, I am just holding my breath and praying that I don't have a power failure during those 60 seconds that I have to flash the bios in.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 08:39 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default

LOL, well god prevail
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 12:50 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 270
Send a message via AIM to tylertherobot Send a message via Yahoo to tylertherobot
Default

He said flashing the bios not updating the bios eheh
__________________
New PC (Finished May 4, 2004)
Athlon XP 2800+
Soyo Dragon ultra Platinum KT600
1024 MB Kingston Hyper-X
120GB 7200 RPM 8MB
160GB 7200 RPM 2MB
GeForce FX5500 256MB
16x DVD
16x52x32x52 DVD/CDRW Combo
tylertherobot is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 01:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 307
Default

Reseting the bios will get rid of the password.
__________________

__________________
Thou shalt not follow the NULL pointer, for at its end lay madness and chaos.

-Shroud, CCNA, MCP

Shroud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.