IDE - A Quick Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2005, 06:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default IDE - A Quick Question

Heres a easy quick question:

If i have one 120gb ATA 133 drive on a IDE channel, then add another 80gb ATA 133 drive, will it slow any of the drives down, or cause any problems if i copied from drive to drive.

What would be the Pro's and Con's for this setup.

Thanks
Wayne
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 08:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

The drives themselves wont be slower, but the reading and writing to them will get a little slower.Copyng from drive to drive istn a problem at all, I do it all the time.

IDE involves CPU overhead and it cant read/write to drives on the same cable simultaneously so there is a bit of a slow down, but IDE also means CPU overhead to begin with, and that slows things down too.In other words, if you load up your system with CPU intensive apps, reading and writing to the drives with IDE slows down too.Other than that, IDE is just fine, you can even do raid over IDE.

Compare to scsi and sata where the drive controller does the work leaving the CPU without the burden of controlling the flow of data to the drives, which makes them faster overall.
__________________

horndude is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 11:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah your only issue is that you cant read \ write from both drives at the same time, causes it to use system resources more
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 02:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

unless you have the second harddrive on the Secondary EDIE cable, that wont slow down the First drive at all if the First dirve is on the Primary EIDE cable.

But if you only use the 80gb for exampel - storing files, and you have them on the same EIDE cable, and you just copy from drive to drive accationaly. that i would assume will also not affect the first HDD when you not using the second one.
jolancer is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 04:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

hmmm, i could set up a raid, but then i would loose the extra 40gb on the 120gb, and my computer doesnt suppport RAID without a Card. Do you think its worth it setting up a raid with 2 80gb Drives?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 04:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

No it isnt really worth it.

I barely notice having 2 drives on the same channel
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 04:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Ive worked out it would cost me $140 Australian to buy the Raid Card, and get the Extra HDD.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 05:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Don;t get a Raid card.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 07:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

ok, also, whats the difference between Ultra DMA Mode 6 and Ultra DMA mode 5, im guessing ones ATA 133 and ones ATA 100?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 01:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 41
Default

try to use ide cables that are ata 133 compliant..... or use rounded cables... you see this is not just for design but they also transfer data faster and are much more stronger than the ordinary ide cable...
__________________

yapeeyapee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.