IDE problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2005, 03:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Default IDE problem

I cant have my hard drive and a DVD drive on an IDE cable. Dose anyone know why this might be? when ever i try to put one of my DVD drives on the same cable as my hard drive it wont detect it or the hard drive? i can hav both DVD drives on the other cable on problem. i wont not mater but i cant copy DVD's using NERO because of it, i get the message below when i go to copy and when it gets to 99% it says burning failed.

any idea's about how to solve this problem?
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 04:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You need to have your HHD's on one cable and your dvd drives on the other. This will be a hassle free setup.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 04:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Yes, you generally have your hard drives on a seperate bus from your optical drives. That's how I also build my machines and I haven't encountered any problems like that.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 06:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 164
Default

tick never show these messages again and then click burn anyway.. that should work then.. if its not... er.. jumpers.. slave and master gotta be set right on the drives... or it wont work
__________________
Skuzzle - Powered by Badgerbyte Web & IT Services
www.drive4fun.co.uk check it out
Skuzzle is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 06:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 219
Default

uchiha>gaara hehe
__________________
[root@root root]$ su
uchiha is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 07:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Set the HD to master and the DVD to slave when connecting them to the same IDE.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.