IDE with this motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2005, 01:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to abowlofrice
Default IDE with this motherboard?

this motherboard doesnt say if it has IDE slots, it only says it has SATA :

ECS KN1 Extreme Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4

and most of the CD/DVD rom drives/burners are IDE except a few which are SATA but they cost over 50 dollars.

or is IDE has a different name??

all help will be greatly appreciated =D
__________________

abowlofrice is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 01:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

It has 2 IDE connector's so you will be able to use regular cd rom's and that
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 09:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

they're the same connections. ATA is the official name for this stuff, but IDE refers to the shape of the connector. ATA gets more specific with different speeds and variations of connection quality.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 09:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i think you may have misread what he said. SATA not ATA. ATA is equivelant toe IDE but SATA is a completely different thing. but if shumway says the board has 2 ide connectors i'd go with that. i don't have enough time to check myself.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 10:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

It has 4 IDE connectors

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 12:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yes it has ATA / IDE / PATA connectors
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.