IDE devices - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2005, 06:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Default IDE devices

I'm kind of new to computer hardware. I understand that motherboards support up to 4 IDE devices being primary and secondary master and slave. I was wondering how people have 6 hard drives or 6 DVD drives. I know with hard drivs you can have a RAID or SCSI set up but I don't know how to do that. As far as 6 DVD drives how would you go about doing that? As in what motherboard property should I be looking for if I'm making a computer specifically for that.
__________________

Ermac936 is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 06:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

there are PCI cards that allow you to add additional IDE devices
__________________

__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 06:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

seria is right so u can have upto how ever many cards u can get fit in pci slots. ive also heard sumthing about some motherboard supporting IDE cables that can have 3 drives attached but i havent seen any so i cant say for definate. also there are newer drives that use the SATA interface, and i have 8 on my motherboard and using 2 for HDDS so theres another 6 easy enough.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 07:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Default

seria - would I sacrifice speed or anything like that? If I use the PCI slots for additional DVD drives I want the same transfer rate or faster, along with same speed in read/write as they would be if they were in the IDE slot.

aj - if my mobo supported up to 8 SATA devices could I do 2 HD, and 6 DVD drives with any problems? Again with 8 would I sacrifice speed in the same way as mentioned above?
Ermac936 is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 07:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

if you used a pci ide or sata card, your drives will either run as fast or faster depending on your setup (raid etc)
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 07:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
if you used a pci ide or sata card, your drives will either run as fast or faster depending on your setup (raid etc)
yeah... what he said...

Quote:
Originally posted by Ermac936
aj - if my mobo supported up to 8 SATA devices could I do 2 HD, and 6 DVD drives with any problems? Again with 8 would I sacrifice speed in the same way as mentioned above?
I doubt you will have trouble.
__________________

Seria is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.