IBM Netvista onboard video problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2005, 03:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Unhappy IBM Netvista onboard video problems

Hi All
I have been working on this problem for a while and I wonder if anyone can help. I am working on an IBM Netvista 2254 G23 PIII 1.0Ghz 128MB. It originally had WindowsME for the OS. I reformatted the harddrive due to a virus on the system. There were no restore disks available. I installed Windows2000 and tried to install the drivers for the sound and videofrom the IBM website to no avail. Both sound and video are onboard. I eventually went out and bought a sound card that works fine. Now we get to the problem. I am able to get video, but I am not able to change the display to 16bit high color or any other setting other than the default with I think is 16bit. When I attempted to install a video card(PCI) the computer would not install or show video through that card. I might have to disable the onboard video but I have no idea where to start. I tried all of the video drivers on the IBM website, none of them worked. If there is anybody that can help, I would sure appreciate it.
Thanks
__________________

tlforme is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 01:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

The reason you can't get more than 16 colours is because you are probably using the standard windows vga graphics adapter.

I've looked on IBMs website, the onboard card you have is an nvidia. The link below will take you straight to the download page for the win2000 driver for this card :
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/si...id=MIGR-4QMSML

If this doesn't work, go to nvidia's website & download the driver from there. The link below will take you directly to the page you need.

http://www.nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp

If you wish to install an off board card instead, you are right about having to disable the onboard one first. This will either be a setting in the Bios or a jumper on the motherboard.
__________________

Samm is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 02:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the help. I will go to the site and download those drivers.
tlforme is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.