I wanna quit - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2004, 07:34 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 56
Default

All the parts seem compatible, could you tell us the specific problem you're experiencing?
__________________

NoodleKnight is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 09:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

when i built my computer it was fairly simple.. well it was really simple since u basically just plug everything into the right socket. the only thing that gave me trouble was the POS heatsink that came with my amd... it wouldnt fit no matter what so i bought a coolermaster and all is well(lol)
__________________

__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 10:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 44
Default

Well my specific prob is that i am having trouble with the case and the mobo. The wires are confusing me. My dad is getting better health wise so he should be able to help me i think. thanks for the help if i need anything i will post.
__________________
Xbox, gamecube and p s two,

my pc will own all three of you!!
Kamehameha is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 11:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the slots and ports are:
IDE: for Hard drives and CD/DVD ROM/burners
SATA: for faster Hard Drives
DIMM: for RAM
CPU socket (in your case 754)

power cables, the biggest one into the motherboard, and sometimes there are some for frontal USB and mic + speaker ports in your case, the 4-pin Molex cables into the Hard drives and CD drives, and sometimes in your video card (in some X800's and 6800's)

and also, check that everything is pushed in correctly: one time I had a problem with this, had a black screen when I powered on, pushed in the RAM a little more and it worked
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 03:48 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 56
Default

Well, in a PC, one wire will fit only in one way and one slot. Just take your time, put things one at a time. Make sure you really take your time when installing the CPU because the pins are VERY fragile. The RAM sticks will require a fair amount of pushing power, don't be afaid to apply a good amount, just make sure you dont slip and snap the stick. Other than that, the rest of the parts should fit in with a little more ease, just make sure it's plugging in the right way

As for the heat sinks, you want to apply a VERY thin layer of grease (too much will have a reverse cooling effect). On my computer the OEM heat sinks had clamps which were insanely hard to push in.
NoodleKnight is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 01:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

Read the damn manual it literally should give you step by step instructions
__________________

__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.