I think I've made a huge, stupid mistake. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2005, 09:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default I think I've made a huge, stupid mistake.

So I was going to get a new Nvid GF7800, but I needed a new motherboard.....

I put a thread up on another tech forum on a gaming site and I was told my socket 754 AMD Athlon 64 3400 would work with a 939 socket, on reflection that seems a really, really stupid thing to believe.

So anyway, I got a nice shiney new MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum/SLI, but of course, the CPU won't fit, should I keep trying? Am I doing something wrong? Or have I just been tricked and ended up getting the wrong socket for the wrong socket, if you get my meaning.... :sigh:
__________________

Kaii is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 09:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

LOL, 754 and 939 take 2 totally different chips. Buy a new CPU or return the board.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 09:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER force a CPU.

Like was said above, return mobo or buy a new CPU
__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 10:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Sounds like someone on the other forum took one too many tokes off da bong!!!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 10:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Meh, Gaming forums are that way many times. They think they know about computers just because they play CS but they really know nothing at all.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 10:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

If you got a 939 chip and a 754 board, return the board as 939 is better.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 10:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
tajahem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 410
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by m3trj
If you got a 939 chip and a 754 board, return the board as 939 is better.
He has a 754 chip and a 939 board.


They do make motherboards that are socket 754 and that have PCI-E x16 slots.
tajahem is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 11:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

I think you have three options:

1. Socket 754 and 939 Motherboard

2. Socket 754 with PCI-E

3. Return the motherboard or get a Socket 939 chip (recommended)
persianxballer is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 11:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
tajahem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 410
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by persianxballer
I think you have three options:

1. Socket 754 and 939 Motherboard

2. Socket 754 with PCI-E

3. Return the motherboard or get a Socket 939 chip (recommended)
He can't get the 7800 with solution 1.
tajahem is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 11:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

What do you think ZIF-socket stands for? Zero Insertion Force force.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.