I/O Shield Necessary? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2008, 10:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 60
Default I/O Shield Necessary?

I bought an open box GA-P35-DS3L which didn't come with an I/O shield.

Is it necessary for the health of the computer? Or can I just be careful?

I asked Gigabyte and they wanted $10 to send a new one out.

Any ideas or advice?
__________________

zabak80 is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 10:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: I/O Shield Necessary?

It's not necessary. It just helps block out dust and make the back look better.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 10:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: I/O Shield Necessary?

eh... you can prolly find one for cheaper somewhere on the intarwebs...
i would buy one just cuz id like my case to look pretty, but no its not essential by any means...
like peter said, mainly just keeps out dust... so if you clean/dust your comp often, youll be alright...
also, just a thought... make sure youre careful not to tweak or bend any of the actual I/O ports if you move it or anything... your at a greater risk to them catching on something and bending/breaking, i would think...
hope i helped - RK
__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 10:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 60
Default Re: I/O Shield Necessary?

I keep it very well hidden and out of the way under my desk. It never moves.

Maybe I'll just throw a few strips of electrical tape on it to keep out dust.
zabak80 is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 11:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: I/O Shield Necessary?

^just leave the hole, and no there is no risk, unless you like to sit behind your computer spiting at it lol.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 11:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: I/O Shield Necessary?

the only risk is of things getting inside e.g bugs and dust.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 11:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: I/O Shield Necessary?

Bugs can get inside through many other holes...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 11:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: I/O Shield Necessary?

well unless he is living in a bug infested building then there won't be a problem with bugs.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-15-2008, 04:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: I/O Shield Necessary?

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
well unless he is living in a bug infested building then there won't be a problem with bugs.
you'd hope so. remember it's warm inside computers though . some nasties are drawn to it.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-15-2008, 04:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: I/O Shield Necessary?

Im the kind of the guy that just couldint live with something like that.

For example: One of the clips on my ram heatsreapers were missing. I emailed wintec and made them send me 4 new ones for free, even though it was my fault the clip was missing.

true story.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anti-Trojan Shield D.Arbib Microsoft Windows and Software 2 02-19-2008 06:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.