I notice.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2004, 02:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 125
Default I notice..

That some video cards have a pin where you can plug your power supply to and other video cards doesnt contain a pin. What is the extra pin on the video card for?
__________________

Wall7486 is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 03:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

The newer cards need lots of power and they cannot get that power on the pci bus. Pluggin the molex connector in from the power supply gets them lots of raw power yeaaaaaaa ARRgggg!!!
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 05:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

And now with PCI-E some low end cards don't need molex connectors, like the plain 6600 I believe doesn't use a molex connector and runs only on thejoice coming from the PCI-E bus
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 05:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah I have the FX 5700 256mb card and it doesn't require a connector, although it says so in the manual but I think it's a generic manual for the 5700 series period, because my friend has the 128mb 5700 Ultra and the Ultra of that series DOES need that molex connector. or POWER DONGLE as my manual refers it
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 11:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

"The newer cards need lots of power and they cannot get that power on the pci bus. Pluggin the molex connector in from the power supply gets them lots of raw power yeaaaaaaa ARRgggg!!!"

Yaaaaa!! Buff macho cards!!! HOOAH!!
Regulus is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 12:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 63
Default

AH nividia and their power hungry CARDS, MUNCH
__________________

__________________
My Computer
Sofo File Server Case II
Antec 430 Watt PSU
5 Coolermaster LED fans(2G 3B)
Intel 865iPERL
Intel 2.8 Celeron D
ATi Radeon 9200 SE(For Now)
Sony 52x Cd Drive
Seagate 7200 RPM 40G
CoolerMaster Jet 4 (it works great)
ATI-M is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.