I never leave well enough alone... uhhh - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2005, 06:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default I never leave well enough alone... uhhh

Well, the title says it all. I bought a new Plextor PX-716AL/SW DVD burner last week. Installed it and everything was working great. It's actually one of the fastest drives i've ever seen. 16X DVD burning....
has a 8MB buffer cache... it's great...

Then I decide to visit the plextor website to see if there are any updates or anything... I find that there is a "FIRMWARE" upgrade for my drive. So i download it and "FLASH THE DRIVE" restart my PC.
I go to burn a CD... And the damn thing keeps ejecting every CD/DVD everything... And not only that but the light is blinking and there isn't even a disk in the drive....

So I do some troubleshooting for about 20 minutes or so. Nothing I tried worked. So i gave up and called Plextor. Talk with a tech. and he tells me, "Oh, that's a classic sign that the FLASHROM chip didn't take the firmware upgrade properly." I was like , "what"? So he told me I have to RMA it. Damn it!!! Now I have to ship it to them and wait for them to ship me another one back.....

AHHH... Why can't I leave well enough alone!!!!
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 06:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

curiosity killed the cat : )
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 06:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I flashed my plextor PX-716SA to the latest firmware without trouble. Are you sure you didn't download the wrong firmware? Thats a sure fire way to kill any electronic device... bad/incorrect/failed firmware flash. WOW HAVOK I JUST SEE YOUR SPECS IN YOUR SIG. Mind telling me how that zalman 9500 works?
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 07:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

if it aint broke, dont fix it

If it's broke...buy a new one

as per instructions at pimprig.com

"Overclock it up until it fries, buy another and dont go quite as far"
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 07:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Yes, but the updated firmware brings with it faster dual layer burning speeds.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 09:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
I flashed my plextor PX-716SA to the latest firmware without trouble. Are you sure you didn't download the wrong firmware? Thats a sure fire way to kill any electronic device... bad/incorrect/failed firmware flash. WOW HAVOK I JUST SEE YOUR SPECS IN YOUR SIG. Mind telling me how that zalman 9500 works?
Yes, it was the correct version - PX-716AL the tech guy told me it was the right version too. He said, "Sometimes it happens and it's a faulty FLASHROM chip." I don't know... The reason I even flashed it was because I just picked up some dual layer disks... and wanted to burn them a little faster..... fugger!!!!!

Hey, 003 does your drive have the 8MB buffer cache?

The SIG build isn't complete yet. It's a work in progress. I still need to decide if i'm going DFI/7800 or DFI/x1800XT... May-be in a few weeks i'll decide and buy the rest of the stuff I need. Which is pretty much the only things I need left. I've bought everything else already.... The Zalman 9500 is damn cool looking and it's not as big as it looks in alot of pictures... Can't wait to slap this sucker on my FX-57... I keep opening up the box and the plastic casing of the processor and just look at it... stare... and drool... I can't wait to build.... But I must....

Painful Anticipation.....
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 09:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
Hey, 003 does your drive have the 8MB buffer cache?
Yes -- that is why I bought it I know the 9500 looks really cool, but I want to know how it preforms. Let me know when you get everything set up.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 11:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

damn that sucks,but thats going to be a good set up.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.