I need to slave a SATA HDD with ATA MASTER - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2004, 08:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Question I need to slave a SATA HDD with ATA MASTER

Long story short.

My sister's Birthday Present of a Seagate ATA 80 Gb hard Drive turned out to be SATA hard drive. (Disty stuffed up and supplied a SATA at ATA price. )

Her existing system has a Gigabyte GA-7N400V Pro2 motherboard. This comes with the SATA connections.
Currently, there is a 30 Gb Maxtor (ATA IDE Primary Master) for her OS (Win Xp Pro), and we would like to keep it that way.

So how do we go about installing the Seagate 80 Gb SATA, and still have the computer boot from the 30 Gb Maxtor?


Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 09:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to D4RK GR4YL3N

Simply installing the SATA drive without an operating system should let you boot from the ATA with the SATA as extra storage. You shouldnt need to set the SATA as slave or master.

Athlon 64 @ 2.3 ghz
Chaintech mobo
9800 Pro
1 gig RAM
2x 160 gig sata
Audigy 2 zs
D4RK GR4YL3N is offline  
Old 06-07-2004, 08:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506

You can also (usually) set the boot order in your bios. (Hit DEL at startup). Depending on your bios, one of the tab will let you order the boot up sequence i.e. floppy 1st, CDROM 2nd, IDE drive 3rd, SATA... etc....
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
zerozero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.