i need serious advice and opinion! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2004, 02:20 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to its HIM!
Default

plz help if anyone has advice!
__________________

its HIM! is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 03:33 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

umm... u should have atleast 2 fans not including the one on ur CPU.. cuz i have 3 fans (includin tha one on my CPU).. and read my signature thats whats in my tower, and i dont have that many fans, but mine runs fine!! are u sure its heatin up.. it could be goin/went bad!! cuz i had my CPU for like a few weeks, and my computer would just restart while i was playin a game or somethin, and i thought it was from over heatin.. but it was cuz the people didnt install the chip correctly or somethin and it went bad fast.. so it could be either
__________________

__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 03:36 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

so u might need to replace ur CPU because it could be that its goin bad.. it sucks.. but i just sent my computer back and had em replace it for free!! and it runs fine... so i know it wasnt from over heatin.. good luck
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 11:04 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to its HIM!
Default

i am pretty sure its not the processor...and it is heating up because when i opened my PC and checked it out the thermal grease was dry and cracked...i put more on and it is starting to do it again.... maybe i should get like 2 more fans and a new CPU fan
its HIM! is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 11:30 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182
Default

how much grease are you putting on? you should only be applying a tiny (pea size) dot, then spreading it VERY thin with a credit card or something clean and straight-edged. If you put too much on, or don't thin it out, it will actually have the opposite effect and heat things up.
regeisle is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 11:38 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

yeah you should apply the grease paper thin, and try it again, and a few more case fans wouldnt hurt. You should probably look on google for CPU-Z so you can actually see what core you have or I guess that I could just give you a link to it.

http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php#download

Download that and run it and you will see all of your computers main settings like FSB your processors core and stuff like that

Good Luck
str8lazy is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 03:53 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

hmm.. and if that doesnt work... u should invest in another fan and maybe even a new CPU fan like u were talkin about.. thats prolly what u should do, u can get fans for like $5-7 !!
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 03:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

...and possibly a new heatsink!!
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 09:07 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 56
Default

hahah really? because I used the whole tube of the grease on my processors. I'm running dual Xeons on my server, prestonia core. I've only seen them top about 46*C, which is a little hot. I'm also using the fans that came in the box. I could see why the grease can cause a negative effect, I'll wipe some off the next time I do some maintenance on the server.

More and more fans won't always do the trick. Try opening your case when you're running the computer, ususally since the computer is so muffled up it heats up quickly. Try buying fans which can push a lot more air, ones with higher CFM. Also you can try getting new heatsinks. If all else fails try freon cooling!
NoodleKnight is offline  
Old 07-27-2004, 11:07 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to its HIM!
Default

thats how much greaase i put on just pea-sized....i have studied up before i started building...i think its the threshold settings in my active monitor because they seem kinda low
__________________

its HIM! is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.