i need a motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2005, 03:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 76
Default i need a motherboard

which is the fastest/best motherboard. goinna have 6600GT 128mb and 1GB ram
OUT OF THESE ONLY PLEASE!!!

(Sckt939)MSI K8N NEO4-F nForce4 Chipset SATA Raid PCI-E w/GbLAN,USB2.0,&7.1Audio

(939pin Sckt)MSI RS480M2IL ATI Radeon Xpress200 Chipset SATA PCIE w/Video,LAN,USB2.0,IEEE-1394,&Audio

(939-pin Socket) Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9 nForce4 Chipset MB w/ LAN, USB2.0, IEEE, & AUDIO
__________________

eatbutt is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 03:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

they all suck

(939-pin Socket) Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9 nForce4 Chipset MB w/ LAN, USB2.0, IEEE, & AUDIO

probably best choice
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 03:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 76
Default

i dont get it, hows a motherboard suck? what makes it worse than anotherr one?
(939-pin Socket) ASUS A8V-E Deluxe VIA K8T890 Mainboard w/ LAN, USB2.0, IEEE, & AUDIO <- that i heard was concidered GOOD... how come?
ty for fast posts and help diablo
eatbutt is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 03:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 121
Default

Some have better features than others and are worth the price for reliability. By the way welcome to the forums and nice name.
PILMAN is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 03:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

well first you gotta get your facts straight; are you gonna use an AGP 6600GT or a pci-express 6600GT

after that, you pick your motherboard

and by sucking i meant those motherboards were made for overclocking

bu if you just want a good and stable motherboard, that gigabyte is fine (minor overclocking probably can't hurt)

and if i were you i wouldn't go for that asus

what are you other choices? if you want cost efficient, then go for the gigabyte; if you can drop a little more dough and might want to try overclocking, then go for the Abit boards
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 03:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 76
Default

its a 128mb nvida 6600GT 16X PCI
no Abit's available in this build, so i guess ill go with the gigabyte
ty
any more info on anything is always appriciated
eatbutt is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 03:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

i guess the gigabyte would work

what are all of your choices?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 03:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 76
Default

the ones i didn't list before are 50$+++ over the other ones, but ehre are the choices

-(939pin Sckt)MSI RS480M2IL ATI Radeon Xpress200 Chipset SATA PCIE w/Video,LAN,USB2.0,IEEE-1394,&Audio
-(Sckt939)MSI K8N NEO4-F nForce4 Chipset SATA Raid PCI-E w/GbLAN,USB2.0,&7.1Audio
-(939-pin Socket) Foxconn/WinFast NF4UK8AA-8EKRS nForce4 Chipset Ultra PCI-E w/LAN,USB,IEEE,&Audio
-(939-pin Socket) Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9 nForce4 Chipset MB w/ LAN, USB2.0, IEEE, & AUDIO
-(939-pin Socket) ASUS A8V-E Deluxe VIA K8T890 Mainboard w/ LAN, USB2.0, IEEE, & AUDIO
-(Sckt939)ASUS A8N-SLI nForce4 SLI Chipset SATA RAID Dual PCIE MB w/Gb-LAN,USB2.0,IEEE-1394,&7.1Audio
-(Sckt939)ASUS A8N SLI Deluxe nForce4 SLI Chipset SATA RAID Dual PCIE MB w/Gb-LAN,USB2.0,IEEE-1394,&7.1Audio
-(Sckt939)Gigabyte GA-K8N Ultra-SLI nForce4 Ultra SLI Chipset Dual PCIE MB w/Gb-LAN,USB2.0,IEEE-1394,&7.1Audio
-(Sckt939)GigaByte GA-K8NXP-SLI nForce4 SLI Chipset Dual PCIE MB w/Gb-LAN,USB2.0,IEEE-1394,&7.1Audio
-(Sckt939)MSI MSI-K8N NEO4 Platinum/SLI nForce4 SLI Chipset Dual PCIE MB w/Gb-LAN,USB2.0,IEEE-1394,&7.1Audio
eatbutt is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 03:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yea, the gigabyte is fine
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 05:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

if you're looking for a socket 939 PCI-E board my first choice would always be DFI....buuuut then again if you aren't into overclocking the BIOS options can be overwhelming.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.