I need help, seriously - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2005, 12:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to AEagle20 Send a message via Yahoo to AEagle20
Default I need help, seriously

Ok guys I need alot of help. Im selling my laptop because it doesnt do what i want for gaming. So i decided to make my own computer.

I have a budget of about $1000 not including the monitor.


I work at best buy and was talking to my techs, this is what he told me to get.

Tower: Antec Super Lanboy
Video card: GeForce 6800 OC PCI Express.. (wondering if i can sub this for a 6600 because of the price)
MotherBoard: A decent "ABIT" motherboard..
Processor: Didnt get one because he didnt know what was compatible
Hard Drive: SeaGate 120GB
Ram: Corsair 1gb PC4200 (can this be replaced for something a bit more frugal)
CD Rom- DVD/CD-R Dynex


All i want to be able to run is Battlefield 2 type games. I currently just play Final Fantasy XI and Black HawkDown. Please let me know if I am missing anything.. I dont know what im doing like i said. Thank you in advance for your time. AIM me if possible.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
AEagle20 is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 12:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Well, get a:

Case: Thermaltake Tsunami Black ATX
Mobo: DFI LanParty UT nf4 Ultra-D ATX
RAM: 1GB OCZ Performance PC3500 184-Pin RAM (2x512)
Processor: Either AMD Athlon 64 3200+ or 3500+
Video Card: eVGA GeForce 6600GT PCI-E 16x 128MB
CD/DVD Drive: Just pick out some cheap one $30-50
HD: Seagate Barracuda 120GB 7200 RPM

Extras: For leftover cash, consider getting a few Aspire 80mm LED fans, as that setup might run a little hot.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 12:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to AEagle20 Send a message via Yahoo to AEagle20
Default Thanks

holy crap thanks man i appreciate it, as i would more feedback. I honestly know nothing about this stuff. But out store just got segmented and we have gaming pc's everywhere so im inspired. I'll look this stuff up online. I'll post the prices I have on my stuff

Antec super lanboy: 74.00
GeForce 6600: 148.00
Some ABIT motherboard >.< : 163
Corsair 1gb pc4200: 282.00
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
AEagle20 is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 12:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Np.

Corsair is overrated and overpriced man. You're better off with OCZ, just OC it some and you'll blow Corsair away for a lot less.

6600 is fine, but make sure it's a 6600GT.

Case is fine, just wanted to give ya another option.

$163 is bad for an ABIT, and DFI is so much more stable, and it has so many features, especially for overclocking.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 12:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to AEagle20 Send a message via Yahoo to AEagle20
Default

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...Name=WDVW&rd=1

I've found that processor, is that a good price? Should i buy from Ebay...
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
AEagle20 is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 12:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to AEagle20 Send a message via Yahoo to AEagle20
Default

Thanks counterstrike I'll look that stuff up
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
AEagle20 is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 12:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

nice price on ebay but you got to watch yourself on ebay. look up on his or hers rating to see if he or she is good on his or her word.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 12:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to AEagle20 Send a message via Yahoo to AEagle20
Default

You guys are kicking ***, one more question, does the delay on the flat screen LCD's make that much of a difference.. And if you do know a decently priced LCD that u could reccomend?
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
AEagle20 is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 12:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Here's a few suggestions. Take 'em for what they are worth.

First off, if a 'techie' works for BestBuy, forget what he/she/it says...

Anyway, as for a mobo, consider this one:
DFI nF4-DAGF Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136160
Not bad for $89. I just read a great review of it, Here:
http://www.hardwareasylum.com/module...nt&id=1&page=1
It really sounds like a solid board. I am considering it myself.

As for a case... Are you considering the Super Lanboy because you can get a discount? You do know it doesn't come with a PSU?

Go with Antec (great quality). If you don't have to have a side window, check out this one:
Antec Performance II SOHO File Server - Black
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1077627381801
(BestBuy link, so you can get your discount)

Antec PERFORMANCE TX TX1050B Black Steel Server Computer Case 500W ATX12V v2.0 Power Supply - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129158
NewEgg link to a better version, same type of case.

If you have to have a window, check out these two ThermalTake cases, both with PSUs:
Thermaltake Soprano VB1430BWS Black Steel/Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 430W Power Supply - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133156

Thermaltake SOPRANO VB1430SWS Silver Steel/Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 430W Power Supply - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133157

As for a CPU, the mobo I suggested is a 939. Go with a Venice core. Buy what you can afford, but don't worry... that mobo can overclock with the best of 'em. You may want to get a decent after-market cooler first, though.

A 120 gig HD ain't bad, but for the prices, you can go better. Use a 120GB SATA drive as your OS drive is good, with about a 200gig data drive for your music, files, movies, whatever. That way, if something goes nuts and you have to format and reinstall, you don't lose your data.

RAM: I'm no expert on OC RAM, but PC4200 is a bit much. I don't think AMDs recognize the difference past PC3200 (if I'm wrong, I'm sure someone will tell me). Using a gig is a good idea, though.

Go for a DVD burner (double layer) as well as a DVD/CD-RW for a second driver. DVD burners have come way down, to the tune of roughly $40 or so for an older model. Check NewEgg for the best selection. You will never regret having a second drive, trust me.

For your vid card, get what you can afford. The newest and best is great, but it is expensive. Just be sure to go with a good company. Read through some of the threads discussing this topic and you'll see which are good, and which aren't.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 12:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default Re: Thanks

Quote:
Ram: Corsair 1gb PC4200 (can this be replaced for something a bit more frugal)
Quote:
RAM: 1GB OCZ Performance PC3500 184-Pin RAM (2x512)
I just want to say unless you overclocking both of those are some major overkill. If you going athlon then the max speed ram will run without overclocking is pc3200. This makes it a waste of money to get anything better then pc3200. Unless you over clocking I would just get some good value ram and it will work fine. something like the following will be fine.

CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) $82
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440

That ALOT cheaper then the ram you chose and you would proberly notice maybe a 1%-3% difference. If you wanted to make up the 1-3% differnt then get some pc3200 cas 2 ram it will still cost you alot less then the pc4200 ram that should only be bought by overclockers.

If you are overcloking your ram ALOT then I guess the ram you chose is worth the money.
__________________

mgoldb2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.