I need help with my graphics card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2003, 09:18 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

you prolly put a 3.3v 4x card in a 1.5v 8x slot and roasted your mobo
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Old 09-05-2003, 01:03 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 49
Smile

try to take out the bios battery,all power conectors and wait for 10 minutes. remove any unnecesary hardware, check the video card if is well inserted, then reconect all power conectors, bios battery and boot, i you secceed, then update your video card drivers maybe any file is corrupted. before you update the drivers, go to control panel, unistall your video card, (dont restart)
go to the folder where the drivers are, delete it adn then reistall the new drivers.
hope you solve your problem
__________________

iory_yagamy is offline  
Old 09-05-2003, 10:29 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

or you can just use the reset jumper because on some boards it can take up to 2 days to reset the bios by removing the battery, check your mobo manual to see which jumper resets the bios, but i still think your mobo is fried
dethangel is offline  
Old 09-15-2003, 12:14 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 21
Send a message via ICQ to Keiyentai Send a message via AIM to Keiyentai
Default

I thought you could put a 4X card in to a 8X board? WOudent it just knock it down to a 4x?
Keiyentai is offline  
Old 09-15-2003, 11:36 AM   #15 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Question

I'd like to know about that 8x vs. 4x question myself Keiyentai. I've got a PC that stops booting on the Win XP boot screen, just stalls there. Same in safe mode & I'm using an Abit mobo with a 8X agp slot with a Geforce4 440MX in it. New Mobo with new HD & newly installed Win XP. Had the same problem with old HD & Win ME on it so i added new HD formatted it with XP and now this BS.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 09-16-2003, 05:25 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 141
Default

The 4x/8x thing....

It all depends on the mobo.. Some of the newer 8x mobo will only take a 1.5v card and state that very specifically.. They also claim that they are backward compatable to 4x/2x/1x but I haven't found a single card lower than 8x that uses 1.5v.. SO.. Basically what you have to do is look at the specs for the board and make sure that is doesn't give a v. requirement (like 1.5v only). If that restriction is there and you dropped a 3.3v board in.. The mobo is fried..
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Xaser II A5000C (w/ 5 case fans)
AMD 2500+ (OCed to 3200+)
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
1 Gig Corsair XMS low latency pc3200
2x 80g Maxtor SATA (w/ Raid 0)
128Mb Nvidia GeForce FX 5700 Ultra
480w Thermaltake PSU
Video Capture Card (titantv.com ROCKS!)
16 Sony DVD Rom
52x/32x/52x Optorite CDRW
Alexander is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.