I need help with my graphics card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2003, 07:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to aznballaboii
Default I need help with my graphics card

I bought an Asylum Geforce fx5200 like a month ago, and it was working fine. Until now that is. After reconnecting my cd-drive, I turned the computer back on and the monitor was blank. Also connected to my computer is a PCI Trident graphics card, which was a temporary since my motherboard did not come with onboard graphics. So I plugged in my monitor to the Trident and it got pass boot up, but would freeze afterwards. I then took out the Geforce card, then it continued on to work fine ... in 16 bit graphics! So fellas ... is it my graphic card thats bad ... the Bios setting ... does it have anything to do with the IRQ? Please help!

Comp Specs
motherboard: Soyo
Chipset P4x400
CPU: p4 2.4
Ram 512mb ddr333
HDD: 60mb
__________________

aznballaboii is offline  
Old 08-23-2003, 09:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it could be the drivers, what version drivers have you got?

try and boot up using your PCI graphics card but have your Geforce Fx5200 in as well

or it could be that you are using an 8x AGP card in a 4x slot or something
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-24-2003, 02:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

Check the card (the ge force) does it have a fan on it?

I am unaware if ti does or not, but if it does, then see if it spinning. If its not, chances are, your card has overheated.

Double check to make sure it is seated properly.
ADZ is offline  
Old 08-24-2003, 04:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to aznballaboii
Default

thanks ... i'll check the fan , but when i tried setting both graphics cards in, the computer would freeze after boot up.
aznballaboii is offline  
Old 08-24-2003, 04:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to aznballaboii
Default

o man ... u were right ADZ ... the fan has stopped and following boot up, theres the beep beep beep sound ... i have no idea how i overheated my card, have any advice to prevent future overheating?
aznballaboii is offline  
Old 08-24-2003, 10:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 141
Default

Replace whatever video card cooling that comes with the board with a aftermarket cooler. Thermaltake.com has some good solutions for this.. Here's the link to their Video cooling list.

http://www.thermaltake.com/products/chipset/vgaoem.htm

Also, get as many case fans as your case will support, then cut wholes for at least 1 more (like in the side).

These steps should help dramatically..

Alexander
__________________
Thermaltake Xaser II A5000C (w/ 5 case fans)
AMD 2500+ (OCed to 3200+)
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
1 Gig Corsair XMS low latency pc3200
2x 80g Maxtor SATA (w/ Raid 0)
128Mb Nvidia GeForce FX 5700 Ultra
480w Thermaltake PSU
Video Capture Card (titantv.com ROCKS!)
16 Sony DVD Rom
52x/32x/52x Optorite CDRW
Alexander is offline  
Old 08-26-2003, 10:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

that sucks man, im getting a case with 8 fans (including the 2 in the PSU) im sick of my comp getting so hot, that oughtta help me run faster

heres the case

it has a 450W PSU and its the green one on the bottom here
dethangel is offline  
Old 08-29-2003, 06:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to aznballaboii
Default

nice
aznballaboii is offline  
Old 09-02-2003, 01:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

ty ty
dethangel is offline  
Old 09-03-2003, 03:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 13
Default

with my vid card i messed my comp up cause well actually to this day im not exactly sure how i messed it up but i ended up sending my computer into repairs
__________________

airhead is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.