I need help on Formatting Xp Hdd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2004, 11:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to xAznPrid3x
Default I need help on Formatting Xp Hdd

how do i and what do i need
__________________

xAznPrid3x is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

why did u started this again, anyway, lemem clear you out,

once you get bootable winXP cd., it'll give you option in start, like, where to install your windows, and in case if it finds a pre-installed windows, which It will, then it'll ask for weather to repair it or clean install. which of course is ur choice. and it'll format your hard drive as wll prior to install O/S Files

got it?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to xAznPrid3x
Default

i donno were to get an winxp bootdisk
xAznPrid3x is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

ask anyone, buy from eBay even(called re-installation disk), you'll find cheap, as these re-installation CD's are ike throw aways. I bought 4 WinXP last month, and the disks with them are now throw away for me. as I have used just 1 disk to install on all, giving their own unique ID's.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to xAznPrid3x
Default

oh ight so if i get one do i just place it in the cdd and it will give me instructions on what to do next?
xAznPrid3x is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

yup, but I assume that you have that shiny holographic Code sticked on ur PC
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 12:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

I think your ram would not be enough to run win XP.
minimum recommended is 256MB.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 01:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

didi-- y do u say that?? all u need to run xp is 64mbs minimum, 128 recomended... 256 just to run crap comfortably.... but he may not do vid editing, or play games.
jolancer is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 01:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 129
Default

Your forgetting the fact that its SD-RAM^

I'm suprised it hasn't crapped down yet

Anyways if you want to get "Technical" about formatting a disk with out using Win XPs GUI. Go to the DOS prompt and type "format c:" and it'll take care of it then just install windows. Or you can use fdisk. Which ever you like.

Btw Didi - Hes already running XP.
-AnGuiSh- is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 02:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to xAznPrid3x
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blind_Arrow
yup, but I assume that you have that shiny holographic Code sticked on ur PC
purple and green and red looking??
__________________

xAznPrid3x is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.