I NEED HELP !! dialup wireless requirements - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2003, 01:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to mquint
Default I NEED HELP !! dialup wireless requirements

I need help Pleasssse !!

I have a two PC's running on windows XP that I would like to setup with a dial-up wireless network but don't want to run wires through my walls and don't want to get another phone line installed.

As stated above I'm currently on dial-up connection (DSL & Cable not in my area).

Is there is a wireless network kit that I can buy which includes all the parts required to make my network connection work and still work with my dial-up?

Is there wireless network manufacture (two or three kinds is cool) that has a will work with my dial-up. And won't cost a fortune and would I need a third party software?

Thank you
__________________

mquint is offline  
Old 08-11-2003, 01:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

hmm,..im also a noob when it comes to networking,..but you might want to check these links.

www.dlink.com

www.netgear.com

www.smc.com

www.usr.com

www.cisco.com
__________________

devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-11-2003, 11:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

I'm not quite sure what you're trying to do here... if I understand correctly, you have a dialup connection on one computer, and you'd like to share it so that you have internet access on another computer in your house. If so, you could buy a wireless access point and a wireless card, and share the connection over the wireless network easily. Linksys (www.linksys.com) has several products that would be acceptable for this task.

If that's not what you're looking for, please explain
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 08-12-2003, 01:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 141
Default

It also depends on what ISP you are using. If you are using AOL there isn't any way to share a dialup connection. If you are using MSN (>IF< they still allow it to be done) you will have to use the Dialup Networking included in the OS for the connection rather than the MSN software. In fact, any ISP that uses client software for the connection, you will have to go with the Dialup Networking in Windows. From there you will have to setup Internet Connection Sharing (XP has a pretty good wizard to take care of that setup).

If the ISP that you are using requires that you sign in through thier software (like AOL) it isn't possible to share that connection. Not to get overly technical, but it involves the authentication that the company uses for internal security. Standard Dialup Networking connections have security holes all over the place, and most ISP have restricted that access.

Hope this helps.

Alexander
__________________
Thermaltake Xaser II A5000C (w/ 5 case fans)
AMD 2500+ (OCed to 3200+)
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
1 Gig Corsair XMS low latency pc3200
2x 80g Maxtor SATA (w/ Raid 0)
128Mb Nvidia GeForce FX 5700 Ultra
480w Thermaltake PSU
Video Capture Card (titantv.com ROCKS!)
16 Sony DVD Rom
52x/32x/52x Optorite CDRW
Alexander is offline  
Old 08-12-2003, 02:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to mquint
Default

Thanks Guy's, I'm new at this stuff so I have a few questions.

1. I have XP on one pc and 98se on the other does that make different?

2. Will I be able to stay on-line If the main pc is turned off?

3. Can I work independently on different web sites at the same time?

4. Would buying a wireless access point and a wireless card be all I need and does it make a different which kind of units I use as far as speed?

My ISP is "att worldwide" dialup network should I ask them if I can connect the two pc's first before I purchase the needed componets?
mquint is offline  
Old 08-12-2003, 02:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

1. It's easier if the pc that's directly connected to the 'net is using XP, but it's not essential since 98se has Internet Connection Sharing as well.

2. Unfortunately, if your main PC is turned off, the other pc loses its internet connection.

3. Both computers can be surfing different sites simultaneously.

4. An access point and wireless card should be all you need. As far as speed, even the slowest wireless equipment would be plenty fast to share a dialup connection. If that's all you need the network for, go with whatever's cheapest.

It's probably best to check with your ISP, but if you don't need any extra software (apart from Dial-up networking) to connect to the internet, then you're probably OK.
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 08-12-2003, 11:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to mquint
Default

How much slower will it be I'm running at 30 kbps now?

In you opion is it worth fellowing through with this?

I don't want to buy everything and than find out it doesn't work.
mquint is offline  
Old 08-13-2003, 02:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 141
Default

You can expect that to drop to less than half what you get on a single PC.

Alexander
__________________
Thermaltake Xaser II A5000C (w/ 5 case fans)
AMD 2500+ (OCed to 3200+)
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
1 Gig Corsair XMS low latency pc3200
2x 80g Maxtor SATA (w/ Raid 0)
128Mb Nvidia GeForce FX 5700 Ultra
480w Thermaltake PSU
Video Capture Card (titantv.com ROCKS!)
16 Sony DVD Rom
52x/32x/52x Optorite CDRW
Alexander is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 02:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
Default

It is possible to do it very cost effectively. Just check the newly released product www.nebowireless.com. In addition to the wireless link mentioned in this web site, which will connect your PC to a dialup ISP via wireless, you need to do the following:

1. Have a network of your two (or several) PCs, either via a router or some type of wireless connection (a cost effective way for the two PCs is the "ad hoc" 802.11 arrangement. Check with any store selling WiFi stuff. Most of salesmen should know this.
2. Use "Internet connection sharing" from Microsoft

Wireless Link just provides a link between one of your PCs and the phone jack. It will be part of the whole setup.

Also try to read the FAQ http://www.nebowireless.com/faq/index.html#q017
ernie is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 03:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

I always feel sad for peeps without Broadband in their area
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.