I need help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2002, 01:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to hwmike
Default I need help!

I have a Dell Dimension 4100, 256MB, 60G HD. I have just gotten broadband and need to get the Ethernet card installed. The cable company provided me with a card, DTNet Technologies Ethernet Network Adapter. No instructions were included. I have installed the board, attached the provided wire to the ethernet board, but can't figure out where the other end of that cable fits onto my computer. It's about 10 inches long, twisted red, green and black wires. The end that is left, has a 3 hole female plug end. HELP! Where does this go?

hwmike is offline  
Old 12-06-2002, 01:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 90

There should be port on your cable modem or router that either says "uplink" or something similar on the cable modem. Plug the other end of the wire into that.

ikellen is offline  
Old 12-06-2002, 02:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv

If you are talking about the RJ-45 Connector, which looks like an overlarge phone cord, that goes from the port on the back of the card, to the cable modem.

But I think what they have given you is a "Wake-On Lan" Cable. What this is for is to start your computer when its off, by having someone on your network send a command to the motherboard. Normally, that wire attaches to the WOL jumper on the motherboard.

I would suggest you do not attach it. Most likely you will have no use for it. Just install the NIC in the PCI slot, attach the ethernet cable to the back of the computer and to the modem, then install the NIC drivers and you should be on.

Let me know if you have any more questions.
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 12-12-2002, 03:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to hwmike

Thanks for your help. That did it...not attaching said wire.
hwmike is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.