i might have found a mobo still have ?'s - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2005, 10:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 76
Exclamation i might have found a mobo still have ?'s

i think this is the one im going w/. is it a good one?? what type of hard drive should i use???


MSI "K8N Neo4 Platinum" NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra Chipset Motherboard For AMD Socket 939 CPU -RETAIL

Model# K8N NEO4 Platinum Item # N82E16813130484
Specifications:
Supported CPU: Socket 939 AMD Athlon 64FX/64 processor
Chipset: NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra
RAM: 4x DIMM Dual Channel DDR 266/333/400 Max 4GB
Slots: 1x PCI-Express X16, 1x PCI-E X4, 1x PCI-E X1, 4x PCI
Ports: 2x PS/2, 1x COM, 1x LPT, 10x USB2.0(Rear 4), 2x RJ45, 1x 1394, 2x SPDIF Out, Audio Ports
IDE: 2x ATA 133 with NV Raid 0/1/0+1
SATA: 4x SATA2 3.0Gb/s with NV Raid 0/1/0+1, 4x SATA with RAID 0/1/5
Onboard Audio: RealTek ALC850 7.1 ch
Onboard LAN: Marvell 88E1111 GbLAN, Marvell 88E8053 GbLAN
Onboard 1394: 2x Ports by VIA 6307
Form Factor: ATX
__________________

DragoonKongol is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 10:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

yes, that is a pretty good motherboard, get this hardrive
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...148-032&DEPA=1
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Only 1 PCI-E slot?

Seems like a great motherboard if it will keep the neo's name, but not enough IDE for me
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 10:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 76
Default

dude thats awsome you r a big help thanx im pretty sure im gonna have more ?'s for u
DragoonKongol is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 10:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 76
Default

can u explaine the pci slots to me
DragoonKongol is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 11:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

PCI slots ok no problem

PCI-E X16 is the newest PCI slot. This is where you would stick a PCI-E graphics card. Make sure to not get an AGP card.

PCI-E 4x and 1x are also the new PCI slots. They lack some speed, and you can stick really new network cards and video capture cards as well as sound cards in the future on here.

PCI are the old classic slot that almost everything comes out on. Almost any card (except 99% of graphics cards) will fit into this slot.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 11:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 76
Default

so chris do u think that the mobo up top is good for gaming
DragoonKongol is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 11:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Minus the capability to run only 1 graphics card, because if you want THE BEST you need 2 graphics cards, it should do pretty well for gaming.

MSI Neo's are a very good gaming board, and this one seems to just have the nforce 4 instead of the famous nforce 3 boards. The older nforce 3 boards could not run PCI-E though.

Seems like a good board, i would check some reviews on google to be sure.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 11:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 76
Default

i want the best how is this one

MSI "K8N Neo4 Platinum SLI" NVIDIA nForce4 SLI Chipset Motherboard For AMD Socket 939 CPU -RETAIL

Model# K8N Neo4 Platinum/SL Item # N82E16813130487
Specifications:
Supported CPU: Socket 939 AMD Athlon 64FX/64
Chipset: NVIDIA nForce4 SLI MCPs
RAM: 4x DIMM Dual Channel DDR 266/333/400 Max 4GB
Slots: 2x PCI-Express X16, 3x PCI
Ports: 2x PS/2, 1x COM, 1x LPT, 10x USB2.0(Rear 4), 2x RJ45, 1x 1394, 2x SPDIF out, Audio Ports
IDE: 2x ATA 133 with NV Raid 0/1/0+1
SATA: 4x SATA2 3.0Gb/s with NV Raid 0/1/0+1, 2x SATA2 with Raid 0/1, JOBD
Onboard Audio: Sound Blaster Live 7.1-channel
Onboard LAN: 2x Gigabit Ethernet
Onboard 1394: 3x ports by VIA 6306
Form Factor: ATX
DragoonKongol is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 11:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

That one will allow you to be the best.

However, you know that being one of the best will require spending 1600 on graphics card, 800 on a CPU and like 400 on ram.

And, if you want to be THE BEST, you need liquid nitrogen cooling, and lots of luck to have the most overclockable graphics card.

Honestly, just go with the first one, close to the best is good enough.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.