I made a mistake, need some help (long) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2004, 12:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 120
Angry I made a mistake, need some help (long)

Hey all,
I screwed something up, and I am here to beg for some help/opinions. I just got a X800pro and in haste forgot to uninstall all the ati drivers and software before taking out my 9800pro. I realized this just as I plugged in the x800. So, I decided to uninstall all the ati stuff, and reinstall the drivers, catalyst control panel, etc.
I thought I deleted everything, I rebooted my system, and saw that I still had a couple Ati programs when i went to control panel->add/remove software. These two programs are: Ati dvddecoder and ati mulitmedia (i think its mme 8.0). However, it does not show how large the files are, whereas normally it shows the size of the file to be uninstalled. I decided to proceed with these two programs still installed. I dl'd the large file from ati that includes the drivers, catalyst, control panel, etc. Upon installation, some funky stuff is happening. I checked under the driver section in the control panel, and it does show that I have the latest drivers (4.9)
But, when I go to open the catalyst control center, I get a message that "Ati hardware is not found. The Ati driver is not installed or not functioning properly" and cannot even get into the catalyst area.
Also, everytime I reboot my system I get the following fatal error: "FATAL Error: AtiSServe Failed to Provide the Required Interfaces! "
I found this on ATI's support site regarding the fatal error: http://www.ati.com/support/infobase/3762.html
So, I decided to get rid of those two problems by going into the registery and deleting all ati files that were unnecessary. I used some registry program, but cant remember which one as I am at work right now.
Unfortunately it didnt work, and I still see these two programs showing up under the control panel--->add/remove programs.
So, again i reinstalled the ati software and drivers.
For a couple minutes, catalyst works and right clicking on the icon in the bottom right hand side will pull up the primary and secondary x800 pro drivers.
When I go into the catalyst control, i noticed that smartgart was not even an option in it. So, I figured what the heck lets try to run some benchmarks. A few times I ran 3dmark03 with success and pretty good scores, but the third and fourth time I ran it, my PC froze at the same exact spot towards the end. I think it is during the sound test on the airplane demo.
I had already updated my chipset drivers when I had the 9800pro. Could this be related to my chipset driver? Anyone have any suggestions? I am at my wit's end, and about to reformat my hd when I get home and see if it works on a fresh install of xp. I am also pondering uninstalling sp2, but then i am not sure if the stuff i installed since sp2 would work (doom3, halo, and a couple other programs.) Any help would be greatly appreciated
edit- I also ran sysandra and got a warning that my smbios might be incorrect. Could this affect whats going on?
__________________

__________________
My rig:
P4 3.0 Northwood oc\'d to 3.6
Zalman Alu-Cu hsf
Asus p4p800e-dlx mobo
1 GB (2x512) pc-3200 OCZ performance series rev. 3 Ram (2-3-3-6)
ATI Radeon X800 Pro
Arctic ATI Silencer 4
Raidmax Scorpio case
Creative Labs Audigy2 ZS Gamer edition
2x74gb WD Raptor, Raid 0
NEC 8x DVD+/-RW
Windows XP pro w/ SP2
Sony 19\" LCD (SDM-HS95)
Logitech MX-1000
Jeffrock is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 01:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

Me personally, if i make a big jump in hardware like that, i always reformat, thats just my oppinion. If not, go to your device manager, delete everything ati, delete your chipset, delete your sound drivers. reboot, let windows reinstall them, i would take sp2 off, sp2 is nothing but problems in my oppinion. I recommend going to sp1. Since you have changed your hardware, its possible that you might have problems uninstalling sp2. I would just reformat. Of course then and again i am a reformat freak, I just love the feeling of being on a system with nothing installed except the os and drivers
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 01:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 120
Default

Thx jseber,
LOL, I think I could have reformatted my hd in the same amount of time I spent screwing around trying to get this right. I'll see if I get some more replies, if not I will reformat when I get home.
__________________
My rig:
P4 3.0 Northwood oc\'d to 3.6
Zalman Alu-Cu hsf
Asus p4p800e-dlx mobo
1 GB (2x512) pc-3200 OCZ performance series rev. 3 Ram (2-3-3-6)
ATI Radeon X800 Pro
Arctic ATI Silencer 4
Raidmax Scorpio case
Creative Labs Audigy2 ZS Gamer edition
2x74gb WD Raptor, Raid 0
NEC 8x DVD+/-RW
Windows XP pro w/ SP2
Sony 19\" LCD (SDM-HS95)
Logitech MX-1000
Jeffrock is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 02:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

Yea sometimes you do gotta look at time... if you can start over and rebuilt in the time it takes to fix,,, might as well start over ehe. Then at least you know you are on a clean system
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 09:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

go here http://www.driverheaven.net/cleaner/

maybe it can help
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.