i m new and i need some help~ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2005, 02:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Default i m new and i need some help~

i was trying to install a second hdd on my brother's pc. his first one was a hitachi 40gb (7k250) and the new one is a maxtor 80gb. both are ata drives. i connected them both correctly (i followed the instructions) and turned the pc on. it took very very long to load the bios...(i thought it maybe checking the new drive....so i didn't bother..) and it started to say can't find the OS!! i restarted it and still got the same thing.

so i unplugged everything, and just connected the old 40gb hdd...it wouldn't load into winxp!!! i tried flashing the bios, dling the hitachi hdd utility to check for faults and stuff.....and when i restarted after using the hitachi utility, it loaded into winxp.

so i burned all the essentail docs and restarted it again, hoping it wold laod just fine...but that ddin't happen~

when i inspect the hdd, i fould 1 of the chip is kinda burned, and the legs of that chip are like powederly

...i know this is bad...but i don't know where did i go wrong..

so here's teh question:

is my hdd dead for good?

can i bring to the tech guys and see if theycan retrive back the data??
__________________

googi is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 02:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yes the data is retriveable, you will need to do a PCB swap, or take it in yourself.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 02:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Talking

wow...that sounds a bit too advance to me...
do u have any websites for tutorials? coz i figure i can save some money and learn a bit more if i diy

thanz for the reply too~
googi is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 02:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by googi
wow...that sounds a bit too advance to me...
do u have any websites for tutorials? coz i figure i can save some money and learn a bit more if i diy

thanz for the reply too~
Different on every harddrive. No tutorials, most of the people here do not know what I am talking about.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 02:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Default

o....ok...then i'll havta bring it to the tech guys then...

but it's good to hear the data can be retrieved...

do u know what might have gone wrong???
googi is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 03:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

maybe both jumpers on Master setting instead of the Hitatchi being on slave setting???
Static_11 is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 04:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Just buy the exact same drive off eBay or somewhere second hand, unscrew and unplug the circuit board on both drives, and take the PCB of the new drive and screw it into the broken drive and plug it in. It should work if it's just the circuit board.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 09:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

A PCB swap should be fine. Just power up the bad drive with the new PCB - if the drive comes up then you should be fine. If the drive starts knocking, then pcb is probably not compatible or internal chip may have also blown. On some occasions there is info on the PCB board that contains info that is directly tied to the HDD, so a swap will not work and may cause more damage. The only thing to do then is to replace the chip and reflash the ROM. If you have a chip extracting tool, and the right soldering equipment, you could very well do this, too. Use an exact replica of the HDD, though.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.