I lost ram??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2005, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to acidrain19
Default I lost ram???

I have 2 sticks of 256mb ram, and it has always said that i have 512 when i look at my system info. but like 2 weeks ago i buy a game (world of warcraft) and it says i dont have enough ram, even though the minimum requirments is only 256mb. so i go into my control panel look at my system and it says i only have 192mb of ram. what happend there? is that even possible. i havnt changed my hard ware.
__________________

acidrain19 is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 05:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

sounds like you might have memory going bad
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 05:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Yank both sticks out, than put one back in. Restart your computer and go into the bios. Save the bios and go back to windows. See what your computer has to say about ram. Repeat for the other stick, than do both.

If on of the stick screws up, than theres your problem. If it only happens when both are in,... uh oh.

192 seems like a rather odd number...
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 05:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I've had my 1gb kit show up as 512mb.....cause one stick wasn't seated right. Either your memory is going bad, or it's just a case of one needing to be resat.
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 07:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 153
Default

depending on the amount of ram slots you have in your pc, swap them around. see what happens.
__________________
AMD Phenom 9550 Quad-Core
6GB OCZ Platinum PC2-6400
Asus M2N32-SLI PREMIUM
Nvidia 9800GTX+
Nvidia 9800GTX+
duncan9562 is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 07:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Also the number is 192 because of intergrated graphics using 64 meg of ram
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 08:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Ah, I learn something new everyday.

I thought it might be on board RAM... I had a compaq that had some and kept messing me up.

I hate compaq...
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 09:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

loL @ onboard ram
yeah ur right compaq LiCK... but eh all packaged comps do
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 09:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

But Compaqs are the worse. Some have the weirdest button combos to get into the bios. I had one that simply REFUSED to let me in.

Has the HP/Compaq merger made them any better?
__________________

__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.