I have a int hdd with no buffer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2009, 05:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 141
Default Re: I have a int hdd with no buffer

I've written to the seller at eBay last week and he asked me for the invoice number. I sent him a copy of the invoice that he sent me but I haven't heard back from him yet. I've been busy with other things so I haven't gotten around to emailing him again, but I will. The invoice expressly states that there's a 5 yr warranty. It doesn't specify if Seagate or the seller offered the 5 yr warranty though. I'll let you know how it turns out. Thanks for the info.
__________________

__________________
Denise
Denise_M is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 11:42 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 141
Default Re: I have a int hdd with no buffer

I RMA'd the drive and got it back a few days ago. It still has no buffer. The store returned the same drive I sent them. . . it has the same serial number and my personal sticker is still on it.

Also, prior to RMAing the drive, after my pc had been on for a while, I would hear the Windows tone for a drive turning off. I could never find the drive because I could still access all of them. While the drive was out for RMA, I never heard the tone. I installed the "repaired" drive, moved the files back onto it but I'm again getting the Windows tone for a drive turning off, so I believe the tone is for this drive but I can access the drive. I didn't didn't mention the tone in my first post because I didn't think to mention it until I reinstalled the drive and then I put 2 and 2 together.

So I'm not sure if the drive was fixed because it still has no buffer and I'm again getting the tone that a drive has turned off (even tho I can still access the files). I specifically mentioned that the drive has no buffer when I contacted them and they sent me an RMA number because of it, and then they sent me the same drive back with no buffer again.

I think it's still broken. I'd appreciate any thoughts from others about this.
__________________

__________________
Denise
Denise_M is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All VOIP programs (skype, yahoo, msn) cause PC crash (only voice calls, chat ok)??? disksko Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 03-17-2009 09:17 AM
HDD Buffer. Jayce System Upgrades 4 09-26-2008 03:22 PM
HDD issue!! *please help me* SirCyber Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 08-23-2008 10:09 PM
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.