I Have Had It With This Crap Ati! - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2005, 08:10 PM   #41 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Just a question, did you install the nvidia drivers?
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 08:39 PM   #42 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

how many pipelines does the pro have? and how does it compare to the XL?
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 09:09 PM   #43 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

The X800 Pro has 12 pipelines, and the X800XL has 16.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 09:11 PM   #44 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 184
Default

(koldapu):

http://www.thetechlounge.com/review....pro_256&page=6

I honistly can't see how a card like the x800 could do so badly in a game. I know Doom was developed using nVidia chips, but to be so drastically bad sees too odd. The review says it is playable at 1600x on their system but the GT does better. However, on most of the other reviews the x800 can outperform the GT on HL2 and FarCry... if this is the case, it is worth splashing out just for a playable Doom 3? I would wait until another high spec game hits the shelves and make a purchase based on that?
rememberme is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 09:14 PM   #45 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

pro has 12 pipelines and XL has 16 and this is how they compare > http://firingsquad.com/hardware/powe..._xl/page12.asp

*edit: wow to slow haha.*
__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 09:16 PM   #46 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Yeah, maybe it will play on 1600x1200 when your in a tight empty room with few enemies, but when there is fire flinging everywhere, and light sources from several different directions casting multiple shadows, plus enemies, the situation becomes a little different.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 09:19 PM   #47 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rememberme
(koldapu):

http://www.thetechlounge.com/review....pro_256&page=6

I honistly can't see how a card like the x800 could do so badly in a game. I know Doom was developed using nVidia chips, but to be so drastically bad sees too odd. The review says it is playable at 1600x on their system but the GT does better. However, on most of the other reviews the x800 can outperform the GT on HL2 and FarCry... if this is the case, it is worth splashing out just for a playable Doom 3? I would wait until another high spec game hits the shelves and make a purchase based on that?
Well, this is the thing. The dilemma is do I want to shell out a $400 just to make Doom 3 play smoothly? There is this expansion comming out in March that I pre-ordered. It would be nice if id would patch it to make it work better with ATI cards, because I know its possible. What other games are scheduled to be released based on the Doom 3 engine? If there are many, it would be worth the upgrade. If not, then it might be worth it to wait for the next generation of cards. $400 is quite a bit of money to me, and I get real nervous when I start talking about spending that kind of money.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 09:21 PM   #48 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 184
Default

Sorry koldapu, misread your post - the link compared the pro to the gt, not the xl! Not much help to your question.

What is the APE utility? It seems like it helps the performance, but I am not sure I have understood exactly what it does...
rememberme is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 09:21 PM   #49 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by YanBooth
Get the GT, then send the pro to me!
PM me for my address, LOL, I wish...
YNB
Is this the same YanBooth that said he was going to drop $6000 on a PC? Wishing for an X800 Pro???

No offense, it just doesn't seem to make sense to me.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 09:51 PM   #50 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

I will also never go with ATi again, me and my dad have both had problems with there low end card - so why would i throw money into a high end card of the same brand?

If they can't get there value line right they obviously don't care about the small consumer, and they don't get my support. My MX440 64MB is incredibly better than my 9200 card, and the 9200 has advanced cooling, more DX supprt, better shaders...it jsut sucks. no overclocking, pretty low performance, plays games at less FPS than my MX440 overall...not sure why its so bad. The budget $40 FX5200 my dad purchased is like heaven compared to this card...and its not tweaked or anything, all stock.

6600GT is my hope and dream lol
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.