I Have Had It With This Crap Ati! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2005, 08:15 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You will with your SLI'd 6800U's

I am sorry to hear that, but the 6800GT can beat out the x800 pro's in hl2 i think
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 08:20 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by YanBooth
Wow, nice graphics, if you hate is soooo much, I would love to have amazing graphics...
he's only getting 8fps though (see top right)
that's why he's annoyed
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 08:24 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Are you sure you have it set up right, my cousin has an X800 and he runs it on high with 2x AA, he gets like 100frames a sec. Also make sure you dont have it at Ultra High, because you need 512mb of VRAM. Only workstation cards have that memory.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 08:30 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I have a friend with a 16 pipe X800 Pro, and 3800+ CPU (he soft modded it) and gets about 45-60fps on pretty high settings
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 12:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
HL2 he can play it completely maxed out. It's mainly because Doom3 is more nvidia specific like HL2 is for ATI, although I think the 6800GT would play HL2 better than the X800 plays Doom3
The 6800GT plays HL2 equally and even beats the X800 Pro in some cases. I hate it when people say ATI=HL2 and Nvidia=Doom 3. This is not so. You don't see Nvidia cards stuggling with HL2 like you see $400 ATI cards barely getting by in Doom 3. In fact, most people I know with 6800GTs get much higher on the HL2 stress test than even I do.

Quote:
Doom 3 runs better on Nvidia's cards. I think a lot of it is to do with 'dont render black bits'
There is a tweak to enable this in ATI cards. I tried it and got no improvement. This makes me so mad because the reason I bought a $400 card to begin with is to avoid performance issues like this.

P.S. If I use CAT-UNINSTALL to uninstall all my ATI drivers, can I still get results if I move to Nvidia without reformatting?
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 12:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

heh, try runnin' doom 3 on a geforce 4 mx 420.......lol
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 12:34 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I guess I have it better than some people. However, when you buy an MX, you expect a low budget performing graphics card. When I bought my X800 Pro, I was expecting a kick-arse gaming graphics card ready for Doom 3 and HL2 and then some. As you see from my screenshot, I did not get what I paid for.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 12:49 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Well beedubya - finally got sucked in?? ahah.

Anyways don't worry about HL2, Everything is on high for me, 6X AF and 16x AA (or the other way around I cannot remember). I don't have a program to look at FPS up but there is no problems at all I can see.

As you already know doom3 is a charm with it. And I suggest EBAY, I got mine 350 with doom3 and it was fine no problems all software and stuff as well.

Good luck.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 01:04 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

How much do you think I could sell my X800 Pro for? I will probably do it on another forum so I could get more out of it, since they don't know of the horrific experiences I have had with this card and Doom 3.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 01:07 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

I know that the futuremark forums users mostly accept ATI over nVidia, they still havnt given me any help with my 3dMark05 score, ****ty 4636.

Anyways here you go if it helps:

http://discuss.futuremark.com
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.