I Have Had It With This Crap Ati! - Page 17 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2005, 06:26 PM   #161 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Soloman02
But, if you spend $400+ on a video card, you should NOT have to do that.
So u are telling me if I spend $400 on a video card I do not need to install DirectX? Because it's the same idea.
__________________

SanToast is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 06:27 PM   #162 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Yeah SanToast thought you were supposed to be putting together this big comprehensive thing for beedub concerning those elusive 'packages' to fix his problem
I sent beederbaya a PM with multiple links to the locations and tutorials.
__________________

SanToast is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 07:22 PM   #163 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bunnymanboy
Hey 4W43k, I used a radeon 7500 in my rig with the same processor as you to play half life two, and I got very playable, smooth of course on low settings.
how? If i can't play Splinter Cell (maybe 1/100th the gfx of HL2 i bet) how can i play HL2? Doesn't seem to make sense unless you play it on like 640*480 no AA&AF something...which isn't worht it if you ask me.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 07:24 PM   #164 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

Source (HL2 engine) was designed for low-end machines.
SanToast is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 07:34 PM   #165 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SanToast
Source (HL2 engine) was designed for low-end machines.
machines in general or low end vid cards? My friend told me it would be playable at low settings, but i'd rather not play it at all then on 800*600 or worse, that just kills the game IMO. I'll wait for my upgrade till i buy D3 or HL2. Plus i'm broke lol and about to get a job so i won't be able to be on my computer but a few hours a week from now on.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 07:47 PM   #166 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

both low-end machines and video cards (provided that it is compatible with DirectX 8.1 or greater). I hear ya though... It'd be better to wait to upgrade then play, rather than run at lowest settings. The eye candy makes the game that much better!
SanToast is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 09:10 PM   #167 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

HL2 and Doom3 are ALL about graphics. They are basically showcases for the graphics we can expect to play in the future. Not even worth playing on crappy graphics
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 09:38 PM   #168 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

yup...i've got doom 3....as you can see..i've also got a geforce 4.......i've only gone to the part where the doctor down below is killed and satan starts to fly around the room....not even worth it at all.

hl2 though plays sooooooooooo much better....i don't know why either...i'd think doom would run better cause of my nvidia compared to the ati supported hl2
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 09:43 PM   #169 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol, I went through hell and returned to the Delta complex, only to format my computer sometime after that, SOOOO I haven't re-installed it and played it again since then

Also Cntdwn, it could be because doom3 is making your card run in DX9 taxing the hell out of it, whereas HL2 is running it in DX8.1 or something like that. HL2 runs better on my card than doom3 for that very reason, I got an FX 5700
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 09:48 PM   #170 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

huh....i didn't know that hl2 ran on dx 8.......i guess i figured new game....newest dx usage....
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.