I Have Had It With This Crap Ati! - Page 15 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2005, 12:35 AM   #141 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 153
Default

Your ATI X800 is almost equivalent to my 9200 SE. Something is definetely wrong. Is Vsync turned off?
__________________

__________________
<strong><font size="2.2"><a href="http://vistarewired.com/2007/03/14/10-things-you-wished-you-had-known-about-vista/"> 10 must-know Vista tips and tutorials</a></font></strong>
<p>
crazlunatic is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 12:37 AM   #142 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by crazlunatic
Your ATI X800 is almost equivalent to my 9200 SE. Something is definetely wrong. Is Vsync turned off?
why would it matter if vsync was on if hes getting 8 fps. Vsync only affects 60+ fps
__________________

__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 12:39 AM   #143 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Well, i get no difference whether Vsync is off or on. What I don't understand is I get such high benchmarks....

3DMark03: 11,930
3DMark05: 5,136
Aquamark 3: 63,500

HL2 Stress Test: 130.17

Yet my system lags to hell in Doom 3. I just don't get it.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 12:41 AM   #144 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 153
Default

Maybe you should try contacting ATI?

I think ATI sucks ball with direct 3D. The graphics just look like crap on games with D3D.
__________________
<strong><font size="2.2"><a href="http://vistarewired.com/2007/03/14/10-things-you-wished-you-had-known-about-vista/"> 10 must-know Vista tips and tutorials</a></font></strong>
<p>
crazlunatic is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 12:42 AM   #145 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by crazlunatic
Maybe you should try contacting ATI?

I think ATI sucks ball with direct 3D. The graphics just look like crap on games with D3D.
Its the other way around...ATI sucks with OpenGL. It does very well in D3D.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 06:52 AM   #146 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I think 3dmark and Aquamark run in Direct3d
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 09:24 AM   #147 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 153
Default

I got no idea, but I really want to know whats wrong.
__________________
<strong><font size="2.2"><a href="http://vistarewired.com/2007/03/14/10-things-you-wished-you-had-known-about-vista/"> 10 must-know Vista tips and tutorials</a></font></strong>
<p>
crazlunatic is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 05:33 PM   #148 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
Question

The problem is not ATI. It has to be either the card you have (ie something physically wrong with it, damaged etc.) or it's a motherboard problem. I have an X800 XT PE, and when running Doom 3 set at High Quality/1024x768/4x AA and 8x AF, I hit 61 fps(with CAT 5.1, CAT 4.9 - 58 fps).

Now given my card has a mildly higher mem clock and core speed, but there shouldn't be THAT big of a difference. On Doom 3 with the latest drivers, your card should be hitting AT LEAST mid 40's. My "old" 9700 pro hits 21 fps at those settings!

I suggest you throw in an older card and test it to rule anything else out and if it indeed turns out to be your X800 pro, send it back to ATI. It should still be under warranty. Even if it isn't, ATI will repair any of their graphics cards that are less than 5 years old for free, all you pay is shipping. I just hate to see you blow another $300- $400 on a GPU that is essentially equal to the one you have now.

BTW - on Far Cry my X800 XT PE smokes the 6800GT AND the 6800Ultra, Very High Quality/1024x768/ 4x AA/AF - 70 fps! The GT and Ultra hit 53 and 59 fps respectively (according to tomshardware.com).
shteebo is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 05:49 PM   #149 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 153
Default

I think I know the problem. Going into your BIOS or Graphics card settings and make sure your AGP port speed is set to 8 X.
__________________
<strong><font size="2.2"><a href="http://vistarewired.com/2007/03/14/10-things-you-wished-you-had-known-about-vista/"> 10 must-know Vista tips and tutorials</a></font></strong>
<p>
crazlunatic is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 06:09 PM   #150 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I think I know the problem. Going into your BIOS or Graphics card settings and make sure your AGP port speed is set to 8 X
Doubt that'd be the problem only because things like 3dmark and HL2 run flawlessly
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.