I have the best computer! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2004, 08:05 AM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 43
Default

Wait!!.....My boot time is like 3 seconds...hhmmm - any offers?
__________________

__________________
Awww Damn it!!! My computer is on fire again
NCISAGENT is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 08:24 AM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 193
Default

guess he stopped posting after we caughth im in his lie
__________________

__________________
Before posting ask your question here:
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.google.com/search\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"q\" size=\"5\" maxlength=\"255\" style=\"width:200px;\" /><input type=\"submit\" name=\"ask\" value=\"Ask\" style=\"width:40px\" />
</form>
modemide is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 10:33 AM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

one thing.....
IT DOESN'T DO 64-BIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!
I'd prefer a dual-opteron
.......you don't have to build your own dual socket 954 mobo

and I'd prefer
.......an Nvidia x800
.......and a Seagate 15000RPM 76GB drive
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 10:39 AM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 193
Default

I'd prefer ... the truth.

apok: umm did you mean ati x800?
opteron not very useful for non-multithreaded applications like 95% of your software out there is.

In fact .. pro video cards like the firegl series and server processors like opteron and xeon should be left to the servers and CADD workstations, they are rarely beneficial to gamers, or people who don't spend much time with server applications and multithreaded apps like photoshop and premier
__________________
Before posting ask your question here:
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.google.com/search\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"q\" size=\"5\" maxlength=\"255\" style=\"width:200px;\" /><input type=\"submit\" name=\"ask\" value=\"Ask\" style=\"width:40px\" />
</form>
modemide is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 10:46 AM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
apok: umm did you mean ati x800?
whoops, err.... yeah I meant ATI x800

how about a dual socket 954 Athlon 64 FX-53 then?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 10:48 AM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 193
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
whoops, err.... yeah I meant ATI x800

how about a dual socket 954 Athlon 64 FX-53 then?
I think that would suffice
__________________
Before posting ask your question here:
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.google.com/search\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"q\" size=\"5\" maxlength=\"255\" style=\"width:200px;\" /><input type=\"submit\" name=\"ask\" value=\"Ask\" style=\"width:40px\" />
</form>
modemide is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 12:08 PM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

see, i dont think getting an expensive athlon 64 processor is worth it....unless your use linux. cause windows atm only uses 32 and the only win OS using 64 is still in beta.
oblivion is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 12:12 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 193
Default

I think 64 will evolve a bit more before becoming worthwhile. However, the reason I said that was because it has so much cache, and also other architechtural advances made in the FX line makes it fairly powerful (but still extremely expensive)
__________________
Before posting ask your question here:
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.google.com/search\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"q\" size=\"5\" maxlength=\"255\" style=\"width:200px;\" /><input type=\"submit\" name=\"ask\" value=\"Ask\" style=\"width:40px\" />
</form>
modemide is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 05:27 PM   #29 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default Re: I have the best computer!

Quote:
Originally posted by joebx902004
Wilcox Lab Of Technology Computer-The best one man built computer!

Specs...

Case: Alienware Full-Tower Chassis

Power Supply: 650 Watt Max Power Supply

CPU: DUAL (2) Intel Pentium 4 Processor with HT Technology Extreme Edition 3.4GHz

Ram: 2GB Extreme Dual Channel DDR SDRAM at 400MHz - 4 x 512MB

Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce™ 6800 Ultra 256MB DDR w/Digital and S-Video Out Limited Edition

Video Cooling: AlienIce Video Cooling System

Hard drive(1): 148GB Western Digital Raptor™ 10,000 RPM

Hard drive(2): 250GB Western Digital Caviar® SE 7,200 RPM

Disc Drive(1): Plextor PlexWriter Premium 52x32x52x CD-RW

Disc Drive(2): Plextor PX-708A 8x DVD±R/W Drive

Floppy Drive: 3.5" 1.44 MB Floppy Disk Drive

Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro High Definition 7.1 Surround

Network Card: Integrated High Performance Intel Gigabit Ethernet Adapter

Operating System(s): Microsoft Windows XP Professional/ Mandrake Linux 10.0

Any ideas to make this better money is no object!

Sorry but the processor itself has to support smp. The pentium 4 does NOT support running in dual mode, it doesnt have the code for it. Please use common sense next time you decide to lie....
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 06:04 PM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to Tetsusaiga
Default Re: Re: I have the best computer!

Quote:
Originally posted by ChaosBlizzard
Sorry but the processor itself has to support smp. The pentium 4 does NOT support running in dual mode, it doesnt have the code for it. Please use common sense next time you decide to lie....
pwnage!
__________________

__________________
Specs:
P4 3.2ghz @ 3864mhz
1024mb RAM pc2700
2x 120gb maxtor HD
Asus P4P800-S
Albatron nVIDIA GeForce 6800 256mb
19” SENergy 981 TFT LCD (got it for $500 from my dad\'s work, RETAIL: $880:cool: )
Altec Lansing 5.1 speakers
MOBO upgrade coming soon
Dim Tetsusaiga as Integer
Tetsusaiga is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.