I have 1GB of RAM but my pc says I only have 768MB - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2005, 11:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11
Angry I have 1GB of RAM but my pc says I only have 768MB

I recently built a new computer. I used 512mb of pc3200 ram and 512mb of pc2700 ram. The first time I used it I ran dxdiag and it said I have 1GB. But now when I run dxdiag it says I only have 768mb. Whats wrong?


lucas20042004 is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 11:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

right click my computer>>properties. What does it say there? Also what does it say when it boots up? You may have a stick going bad.

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 11:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11

In my computer it says the same. When it boots up just says ddr 333mhz etc. no errors or anything....
lucas20042004 is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 03:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86


go there and run the ram diagnostic program i used it before works pretty good.
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 06:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC

Do you have Memory Sharing Enabled in BIOS 256MB for Integrated Video?

If your motherboard supports PC3200 @ 400MHz - running a PC2700 @ 333MHz will underclock the PC3200 to 333MHz. Slightly hindering your performance. Yeah, you will have an extra 512MB of memory. If your motherboard supports dualchannel memory, "I don't believe it will be used if you are running two different speeds even though one wil lbe under clocked." Although i'm not exactly sure about that.

Buy another 512MB of Corsair Value Select for like $50.00 bag the PC2700 and call it a day.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 07:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

You're better off with 512mb of PC3200 than 1gb of PC2700 IMO...just simply add another stick later like havoc suggested.

He's also correct about the shared video...

also try CPU-Z and see what it says although I have a feeling it'll come to the same conclusion...

also hitting CTRL+ALT+DELETE then going over to the performance tab will tell you how much near the bottom left, but it'll be displayed as bytes not mb
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 08:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

your motherboard might not support 1GB RAM
it's the same with my motherboard. I have 2x256 sticks and a 512 (all SDRAM, haha) but only sees the 512 as 256, because it doesn't support more than that
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 08:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26

I think what you are looking at with that number is the reserved, whatever it is that Windows uses or something like that.


MrBebop26 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.