i give up! my comp is screwed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2004, 11:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default i give up! my comp is screwed

i dont know what to do! everything is going wrong with my computer, my video is screwing up like major and everything else is screwing up, i want to reinstall windows would that be my best bet? and reset my mobo to factory settings and start as if i had a new comp. i have a slave drive i can save info too. if i left that alone and reinstalled windows would that like restore some old settings?

hey admins im sorry for posting so much but i am in a time of crisis with my computer, you got to understand where im coming from, computers are eveything to me
__________________

__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 03:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

If I were you I would take out all the stuff that you didn't need, like the soundcard the second HDD etc, then format and reinstall windows. Then add the other peices one by one. You may find that its just one bit being a problem and screwing your system.

Eitherway thats the most effectiveway i've found for resurrecting PCs.
__________________

__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 03:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

alrght i fixed it!!!!!! i never even had to re install windows. i just went to safe mode un installed all my drivers like to pretty much eveything, then turn off my comp then took it all apart and cleaned eveything i mean like evenything i put more thermal cool on my cpu, and pretty much just built my pc again. now it works fine
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 03:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Never give up! I did not give up and finally found out I had en empty BIOS battery. GFX is fine.

Glad u fixed it
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 03:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

good job glad you figured it out
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 04:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

=) i am master! thanks for ur guys help anyways tho. i come to u with troubles therefore u are better than me.
(i just stated somthing that was very obvious)
__________________

__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.