i found - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2003, 03:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Thumbs up i found

i found an awesome mobo for all of you looking to upgrade:

Asus Motherboard for Intel Processors Model P4S800 Retail
Specifications:
Supported CPU: P478 Pentium 4 / Celeron
Chipset: SiS 648FX
FSB: 800/533/400 MHz
RAM: DDR400/333/266 Support Max 3GB
IDE: Dual Ultra DMA ATA133/100/66 up to 4 Devices
Slots: 1x AGP (8X) 5x PCI
Ports: 2xPS2, 1xCOM,1xLPT,1x Audio, 1xLAN, 8xUSB20
Onboard Audio: AD 1980 6 Channel Codec
Onboard LAN: Realtek 10/100 Ethernet More...

Item: N82E16813131462 Model#: P4S800
Price: $83.99 Shipping: Special Free FedEx Saver Shipping
Rating:

(avg rating out of 6 voters) 5 stars Stock: YES

it supports all pentium 4 chips including the new 800mhz fsb, has 3 dimm slots, can handle up to 3gb of ddr, has 8x agp slot, 5 pci slots, and the newest asus bios

heres more detailed specs:

http://secure.newegg.com/app/specifi...tem=13-131-462

im gonna build a new comp and this is the mobo i think im gonna use, yall think its a good un?
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Old 07-30-2003, 06:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Looks good to me!
__________________

__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 07-31-2003, 04:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 141
Default

You can't go very wrong with an Asus board.. I just put in an order for an Asus A7N8X-Deluxe, but I'm a huge AMD fan..

http://www.asus.com.tw/mb/socketa/a7...cification.htm
__________________
Thermaltake Xaser II A5000C (w/ 5 case fans)
AMD 2500+ (OCed to 3200+)
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
1 Gig Corsair XMS low latency pc3200
2x 80g Maxtor SATA (w/ Raid 0)
128Mb Nvidia GeForce FX 5700 Ultra
480w Thermaltake PSU
Video Capture Card (titantv.com ROCKS!)
16 Sony DVD Rom
52x/32x/52x Optorite CDRW
Alexander is offline  
Old 07-31-2003, 10:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 153
Default

*whistles* an asus that cheap, thats a great steal
darthparth is offline  
Old 07-31-2003, 01:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

yup, i agree!
devlish96 is offline  
Old 08-01-2003, 04:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 11
Default

When I build Intel systems I tend to stick with Intel chipsets.
Less chance of issues or bugs, they cost a little more than the VIA
and SIS boards but are worth it. The Last thing you want to do is skimp on the motherboard, the heart of your system. The hot chipset currently, is the 865/875, which supports 400/533/800 based
P4's, also DDR400, dual channel DDR, ICH5 with SerialATA support,
and alot of other cool stuff.
I have seen 865 based boards for a little over $100
I currently run an IC7-G I bought for $145 that just rocks! even without
a C model P4

Spend $12 more and get this

Asus Motherboard for Intel Processors Model P4P8X Retail
Specifications:
Supported CPU:P478 Pentium 4 / Celeron
Chipset: Canterwood 865P + ICH5
FSB:800/533/400 MHz
RAM:2 Channel DDR333/266 Support Max 4GB
IDE: Dual Ultra DMA ATA100/66 up to 4 Devices
Slots:1x AGP (8X) 5x PCI
Ports:2xPS2, 1xCOM,1xLPT,1x Audio, 1xLAN, 8xUSB20
Onboard Audio:AD 1985 6 Channel Codec
Onboard LAN:3COM Gigabit LAN 1000/100/10 802.11b
Onboard SATA: Dual Channel Serial ATA up to 150MBs
DoZZ is offline  
Old 08-01-2003, 09:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default what is the speed

of pc 3200/2700 is it 400mhz or 333? and one of the the reasons i was lookng at that board is because i have 1 GB of pc 2700 i can use on it
dethangel is offline  
Old 08-01-2003, 12:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 11
Default

PC2700 is 333mhz
PC3200 is 400mhz

With my IC7-G I use 1GB of pc2700 yet the board is rated for
pc3200, it works fine. The best thing is the Dual Cannel DDR
options, 128bit bus over the single channels 64bit bus.
DoZZ is offline  
Old 08-01-2003, 12:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

this is why im comfused about the ram speeds:

(PC2100/PC1600 up to 3 DIMMs; PC3200/PC2700 up to 2 DIMMs; 1GB PC3200/2700 with 32 DDR chips up to 1 DIMM only)
dethangel is offline  
Old 08-01-2003, 01:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dethangel
this is why im comfused about the ram speeds:

(PC2100/PC1600 up to 3 DIMMs; PC3200/PC2700 up to 2 DIMMs; 1GB PC3200/2700 with 32 DDR chips up to 1 DIMM only)
I think some boards have limitations on the type and amount dimms
you can use. If you use 3 PC3200/PC2700 dimms with this board
you will have problems. The faster memory requires more voltage.
Is your 1GB of 2700 two Dimms of 512mb each? if so you should
have no problem using it with this board.
__________________

DoZZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.