I finally made up my mind. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2004, 04:40 PM   #11 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

what are you going to do with it? i only have a 3.2ghz P4 and it does everything i need and then some, your 3200 will tromp my P4 out of the box, so the proc is great. the ram is good,mushkin, one gig still right? the harddrive is 7200 RPM and that's good for the size of it, even though it's an off brand. the video card is excellent! i think this comp will take anything you throw at it.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 04:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 28
Default

i was debating about the same thing (3200 or 3500)

i went and did some searching and the 3200 overclocks awesome and you can get it upto and past 3500.. Even close to 4000 speeds with adequate cooling
__________________

Windwaker222 is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 04:46 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Winchesters perform 5-7% better than a Newcastle bros. at the same clock speed.
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 04:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

If you do get an AMD 3200+ could you ask them to get you a good stepping. Say you want one after week 35 if possible because the ones manufactured after that week perform much better then the old one which are before week 35. Also the ones before had memory controller issues but they have been fixed in the new chips.

Neosteve
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 11:23 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Are there any other parts I could change to see the best performance?
I want to get the most out of my money because it has been some time since I've got a new computer.
persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 11:28 PM   #16 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

got a sound card in mind? Please dont say onboard!!
Crysalis is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 05:22 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

onboard is just fine, being as quite a few add-in cards still use cpu cycles to process their sound(rip-offs)... i know this dig against onboard sound doesnt apply to me being as the nf7-s has amazing onboard sound... but ive never really found the necessity to go for sound add-in cards.
__________________

__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.