I finally made up my mind. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2004, 12:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Lightbulb I finally made up my mind.

Here are the specs for my new system:

Case
DVD Burner
Floppy Drive
Hard Drive
Memory
Motherboard
Processor
Video Card

Grand Total = $980

Any Suggestions or improvements?
__________________

persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 01:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Looks good to me, but a lot of brands I have never heard of in there.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 02:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

I need more input PLEASE.

It has taken me awhile to make up my mind and I wanted to know if I should make any changes. For example, should I go with the 3200+ to save some money?
persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 02:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

I'd say to be safe, get some name brand components. soyo mobos are cheap and good. get some kingston value ram, even though it's value, it's still kingston. the harddrive could be a western digital. The total was only 980, so i wouldn't be trying to save money, that's a cheap for a good comp.

And yes, an AMD 3200 is still a great processor, even better than what i have.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 02:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma
Default

You can get a nicer looking case for that price.

I would get this ram:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...146-299&depa=1
Its cheaper and a well known brand

Mabey it would be better to get the oem version of the cpu and buy a better cooler if you are going to overclock (it voids the retail version's longer warrenty anyway).
__________________
<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 02:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

If I go with Value Ram, is there any possiblity that I will be able to overclock.
I am thinking about going with a AMD 3200+ 939 Winchester Core because I hear the Winchester core is better than the Newcastle Core.
The case looks a little bad, but it is supposed to be silent, and that's what I'm going for (silence).
Would do you think?
persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 02:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
I am thinking about going with a AMD 3200+ 939 Winchester Core because I hear the Winchester core is better than the Newcastle Core.
You are correct, the winchester core will run cooler and overclock much better than the newcastle core ever will.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 03:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 168
Send a message via Yahoo to millerhighlife_
Default

the 3200+ winchester ties or beats the 3500+ newcastle at stock speeds on many reviews i have read and i will overclock alot better. and yea, get some kingston value ram, i heard it overclocks well.
__________________
P4 2.4Ghz for sale $75
Radeon 9800pro for sale $100
----------------------------------
My New Rig - Soon to be Oc\'ed
----------------------------------
Raidmax Case w/ Crappy 420w Psu
AMD64 3200+ Winchester
eVGA 6800 GT 256mb GDDR3
MSI K8N Neo2 Platnium
512 x 2 Corsair XMS-3200 Xtreme
Thermaltake Silent Boost CPU Fan
80GB 7,200rpm 8mb cache SATA HDD
Logitech Z-5300 THX Certified 5.1
------------------------------
3dmark05 - 5,110
3dmark03 - 11,119
Aquamark3 - 64,745
millerhighlife_ is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 04:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

I think I am going to change the CPU to the AMD 64 3200+ Winchester core and the memory to Mushkin value ram.

Any other changes that I should make?
persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 04:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

How well will this computer perform? I need a computer that can perform in everthing I do, is this what suits my needs?
__________________

persianxballer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.