I Desparately Need Help... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2004, 11:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21
Default I Desparately Need Help...

I have a PC with an Asus Av7 KT133 Mother board.....due to a recovery operation ..I purchased a 160GB Seagate Barracuda Hard Drive ....I partitioned and formatted it into 3.....a C drive (10GB) a D drive (70GB ) and an E drive (70gb)........and installed XP on the C Drive....
But ..
The Seagate is showing up as a SCSI on all 3 partitions ......
although C and D drives are quite healthy and one can install etc on them the E or 3rd partition is just the opposite ..It locks the PC up if I try to open it etc....

Could this be related to the Asus motherboard ......I am desparate ....I need help to get this PC operating properly...
MKid New Zealand

murihikukid is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 11:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf

Why not one 160 gb partotion that would help alot

Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 12:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 213
Send a message via AIM to The Rage

Just a guess...
I notice on board Promise card for this board. I know RAID uses SCSI. Try connecting the HDD to the "standard" IDE ports.
You wouldn\'t like me when I\'m angry
The Rage is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 01:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21
Default I desparately Need Help...

Thankyou both for your immediate reply......I have two questions .. to the Rage first...Yes it has got built in Promise Technology....(I wonder if any drivers or the right drivers are installed?)
Do you know where I get XP drivers for Promise?
Now I am unsure what you mean by the "Standard" IDE ports.....Does this refer to the cable.....IE instead of plugging it into the "primary Ultra 100 IDE socket ......do I plug it into the Secondary Ultra ATA 100 IDE socket.....

Kadahaf...Can one remove a partition without harming the files etc on the hard drive.....Both the D and E partitions are nearly full .....Are you saying if I could unpartition the two this would help...

I apologise for being a dumbie here....But your help is very much appreciated ...Mk NZ.
murihikukid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.