i bought a Maxtor 160GB Hard Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2004, 11:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Default i bought a Maxtor 160GB Hard Drive

I installed this hard drive and my bios and Xp notices it and it says it is only 30GB

how can i partition it to fit in with the 137GB limits
__________________

rooster is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 11:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Check the documentation that came with the Hard drive.

You more than likely have the limiting jumper installed on the back of it. Once you remove it you will get the full capacity (assuming you have SP1a or SP3 installed also)
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 11:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Default

what i am kinda new at this stuff i can install hard drives and stuff but never had to go through with this
rooster is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 11:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Default

will getting windows 2000 fix the problem
rooster is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 12:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

It should be ok without it. You'll just have to use 2 partitions.

For the 30GB problem, look on the back of the drive. You should see where the IDE cable goes in, and where the power cable goes in. Between them is another set of 8-10 pins. 2 of those pins at least should have a jumper (a little piece of plastic that bridges the gap between the pins) on them.

If there are 2 jumpers, read the documentation that came with the HD and remove the one that limits the drive's capacity. If there's only one, just pull it of and have fun .

The reason they have these jumpers is for backwards compatability with legacy BIOS's. Sometimes if you have an older BIOS, it won't recognize a drive that's above 30GB.
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 12:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Here's the article relating to this jumper. Remove it and you should be ready to go!

http://maxtor.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/m...hp?p_faqid=573
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 12:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Default

thankyou i think this might work but i have to put my floppy drive back in
rooster is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 12:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

I had the same issue. All you have to do is split it in half making two equal partitions. I now have two partitions that are approx. 95GB each.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 12:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Default

thanks but to partition you have to buy partition software and i cant find anything free i looked everywhere
rooster is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 12:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Default

Hey why wont it load my new bios at the begining of windows that is on my Floppy drive
__________________

rooster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.