hyperthreading vs hypertransporting technology - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2010, 07:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default hyperthreading vs hypertransporting technology

i know what HT means but not really HTT is HTT the actual speed at which all the hardware talk to eachother so is HT better?!?
__________________

robina_80 is offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 08:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: hyperthreading vs hypertransporting technology

HT and HTT are only similar by their acronyms. HTT was what AMD started using instead of the traditional FSB a few years ago, AFAIK it is an "AMD only" technology but Intel have also since moved on from FSB.
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 09:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default Re: hyperthreading vs hypertransporting technology

thats what i thought its amds new FSB and i know intel use QPI but what about intels HT has amd come up with there own technology like that coz thats making me move towards intel as it gives it 4 more virtual cores over amds just quad core
robina_80 is offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 11:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: hyperthreading vs hypertransporting technology

Quote:
Originally Posted by robina_80 View Post
thats what i thought its amds new FSB and i know intel use QPI but what about intels HT has amd come up with there own technology like that coz thats making me move towards intel as it gives it 4 more virtual cores over amds just quad core
As I've heard it, AMD is in the development stages of something similar to Hyperthreading, though I don't think they can implement it on their current architectures.

Now, Intel's Turbo boost, AMD has already announced something similar I believe called C-state performance boost. Or something like that. As far as I know when you're using a single threaded app, it will actually turn off un used cores AND overclock the single core that's left on.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 10:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: hyperthreading vs hypertransporting technology

Quote:
Originally Posted by robina_80 View Post
thats what i thought its amds new FSB and i know intel use QPI
HyperTransport is the name of the bus (communication technology) between the CPU and RAM.

the Front Side Bus was used between the CPU and northbridge, which traditionally contained the memory controller, which communicated with the RAM.
AMD moved the memory controller to the CPU with their K8 architecture (Athlon 64), so that it could communicate directly with RAM
Intel recently moved the memory controller to the CPU with their i series processors.

So now there is no FSB with any AMD CPU for about 7 years, or with Intel's i series CPU's.
Quote:
Originally Posted by robina_80 View Post
but what about intels HT has amd come up with there own technology like that coz thats making me move towards intel as it gives it 4 more virtual cores over amds just quad core
Look up AMD's Bulldozer architecture.
It doesn't do the same thing as HyperThreading; but basically AMD thinks it can achieve even better multithreaded performance than HyperThreading would give with very little die size increase over what they have.

From my understanding, HyperThreading is used as an attempt to keep execution units busy whenever there's a cache-miss.
It could really help the Pentium 4 mainly because it had a very long pipeline, and cache-misses were very costly for performance.
With the Core 2, Intel didn't think it really needed that band-aid, since it has much shorter pipelines.
Each core of the i series chips have more logic circuitry added specifically so that HyperThreading can improve efficiency. I'm not exactly sure how.

From the user's perspective, it looks like it's making one CPU core appear as if it's two, and allowing more threads to be executed at once.
Really, it can still only execute one thread at a time per execution unit. But if one thread is stuck because of a cache-miss, it can execute a different thread in the meantime, and then go back to executing the previous thread once the correct data has been loaded into cache.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Industrial Technology Bachelor Degree. SThompson86 Technology Careers and Education 4 02-09-2010 11:13 AM
Nvidia Readies New ďUltimateĒ Technology for Gamers. Deadpixel New Systems | Building and Buying 59 10-03-2007 03:53 PM
Intel Demonstrates First 32nm Chip and Next-Generation Nehalem Processors maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 27 09-20-2007 01:07 AM
Interviw with STERON CEO TheEnd187 New Technology and Products 3 07-20-2007 07:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.