hyperthreading - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2004, 12:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Talking hyperthreading

time for my noob question of they day,

I was messing around in my bios, familiarizing myself with it, and i came upon the option of turning hyperthreading off.

what exactly does it do? and is there any gain to turning it on/off?
__________________

__________________
antec nine hundred
abit IP35 pro
Q6600 @ 3.3ghz
Evga 8800GTX
4GB Corsair XMS 800
150gb WD 10k
300gb seagate 7.2k
22" Samsung 5ms lcd
21" Sceptre lcd
cloud is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 01:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

Hyperthreading makes your cpu recognize it as two "seperate " cpus so that one cpu can do some certain stuff such as gaming, and the other half doing wordprocessing, internet surfing, programming such and such. It is much faster having hyprthreading on because it can excute several programs at once. That's why intel has an edge on amd athlon 64s on programming stuff because of that hyperthreading technology. But athlon 64's definitely own intels at games
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 01:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Default

I see, aight thanks
__________________
antec nine hundred
abit IP35 pro
Q6600 @ 3.3ghz
Evga 8800GTX
4GB Corsair XMS 800
150gb WD 10k
300gb seagate 7.2k
22" Samsung 5ms lcd
21" Sceptre lcd
cloud is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 01:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Turn it on.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 01:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

I've seen benchmarks where HT makes the computer slower, but i've seen then where it gives it a small boost. It's really up to you. Also some people swear it makes the general "feel" of the computer peppier, but whatever.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 04:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Default

IT's on.. i'm gonna leave it on.. just wondering what it is/does at whatnot. I don't like not knowing things, which is why i ask like a bajillion questions a day on here.
__________________
antec nine hundred
abit IP35 pro
Q6600 @ 3.3ghz
Evga 8800GTX
4GB Corsair XMS 800
150gb WD 10k
300gb seagate 7.2k
22" Samsung 5ms lcd
21" Sceptre lcd
cloud is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 12:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

it wont slow down ur PC.

I have tsted 2 identical machines (100% identical) one with 3.06 GHz 533 Bus Processor and HT Enabled

other with 3.40 MHz (HT Disabled)

that makes the later with higher clock speed and 800 FSB, still it lagged behind the 3.06 that was HT enabled.

and this wasnt tested on just one software, around 7.

alos, it will keep your system cooler,as seldom you'll reach 100% CPU load barrier. as I when on load mine's @ 50% and temperature's @ 39 @ normal.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 05:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

I don't get that Hyper Threading crap. My computer can play a game like Halo and do PhotoShop editing all at once and it won't slow down. So HT isn't much $h!t to me cuz AMD STILL ROXXX
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 05:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Hyper Threading is very good, specailly in 64 bit processors.
Basicly it works like this

Without HT {Unit Processing 1.2.3.4.5.6.7.8.9.10

With HT (Unit Processing 1.3.5.7.9
(Unit Processing 2.4.6.8.10

Its very simple to understand that HT is better for the fact that you have 1 processor acting like two processors.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 06:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to rollincatera Send a message via Yahoo to rollincatera
Default

HT rocks.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding a compliant sig.
rollincatera is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.