Hypermemory and Turbocache - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2005, 12:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default Hypermemory and Turbocache

Do these graphic cards use a much larger need of power supply compared to a 128 graphic card. And if they do are these card stealing the ram for the graphic card or are they sharing? Would it make a difference in the amount of ram?
__________________

__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 12:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

The 6200 isn't a hugely demanding card on the power supply. About the turbo cache: http://graphics.tomshardware.com/gra...e_6200-01.html

The card has its own dedicated memory, it doesn't give memory to the ram or take any away.

The card will be comparable to the X300 but is better.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 12:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default

Is it a buy for Todays games on low to medium settings? Or is it not going make a difference to my current graphic card
and if you dont mind me asking i was looking for a card with 256 MB, under 100 dollers, and lowpower needs. Or am i asking for too much?
__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 01:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

256mb is not needed for cards that are not the 6800gt's and above, and even then its only DOOM3 that needs the extra memory from those cards, and they don't even fully take up all the VRAM.

I would go with a 128mb 6200, but I would really wait a little bit longer and get the 6600gt when you have the money.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 01:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Your card is better, as dedicated memory is better than turbo caches/hyper memory. You'd want to go at least a X600 for today's games.
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 10:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default

Well i dont own or plan to get doom 3 (makes me pee my pants)
so would a ATI Radeon x700 128MB graphic card help me?
i just want it to be quite low powered. Would 256 VRAM and 128 VRAM be much of a dfference in powerneeds?
__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 11:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

What games are you planning to play? the x300 is good at playing many games, just not the really really graphic intensive ones
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 12:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default

yes i do play intence games like Battlefield 2 and Half life 2.
The problem is im not getting a great graphic card is because im a minor and dosent control the budget of the house for a new powersupply or expensive graphic card i was looking at the x700 128 pro because the half amount of ram might cut down on the power needs (and like 25 bucks cheaper)
__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 12:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Get a 6600gt. You will need it for SM3. If you cant afford that, get a 6600, and if not that, get a 6200, but please do not get hypermemory or turbocache. WHat it means is that any video card that has hypermemory or turbocache does not have any memory on it, it instead takes system memory and uses it for video memory. I guess if you have like 2gb of RAM it would not be a problem, but system memory is much slower than video memory.

BTW, having 256mb over 128mb does not cut down power needs. Don't get an ATI card, they do not support Shader Model 3 which is being used in a lot of games that are coming out and I know there is a mod coming out for half life 2 that will use it. It might not make a difference to you now, but it will hit you hard later.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 12:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default

Im not worring as much as cost goes but i find those cards too demanding for my PSU. im just trying to find one with atleast the power of a x700 but not to powersupply needed
(i use a 270 watt psu in a small ATX
__________________

__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.