Hypermemory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2005, 09:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default Hypermemory

I have an ABIT ATI Radeon X300 SE, Does "SE" Mean Hypermemory like TC and turbocache
__________________

__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 09:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 135
Default

no i think it means special edition... but since its a x300 probably isnt much "special"
__________________

__________________
Pentium 4 630 (3.0ghz)
1 gb PNY DDR2700
ATI 9600XT 128 mb
Hitachi 160 gb
ABIT AS8 Socket T (LGA 775)
bronxblaza117 is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 10:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

no it is not, which is good because hypermemory just means that it takes your system ram and uses it for video ram, which is very bad. se i dont no what it stands for but the se version i know is slower than the regular one.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 10:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default

Thanks, i think im due for a good upgrade 6200 or 6600GT
__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 10:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

The 6200 will offer a very small improvement, the difference will be much more noticeable with a 6600GT.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 10:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

SE among techies = sh*t edition
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 10:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

No man, it doesn't mean Hyper Memory, it does mean Special Edition.
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 10:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Then why is it slower than the non-SE version?
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 10:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

As mentioned, SE means SHlT edition.
__________________

__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.