Hyper Transport - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2004, 06:13 PM   #41 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

well, i know people who have 400GB of storage on their comp

really . . . they have filled up 400GB
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 06:19 PM   #42 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233
Default

B&Gpc,

Your not getting it... You said 2x250GB HDDs is better and will save me money while my 1x80GB & 3x160GB HDDs give me MORE space and cost LESS money. Here, let me do it like this to make it easier for you lol:

B&Gpc recommendation:

2x250GB Maxtor (for comparison sake) HDDs
Cost: $400.00
Capacity: 500GB
Speed: 2 1x drives

crazybeans recommendation:

1x80GB Western Digital HDD
3x160GB Maxtor HDDs set to use RAID 0
Cost: $359.50 (less mula)
Capacity: 540GB (more space)
Speed: 1 1x and 1 3x (faster speeds)

I really hope that's easier to understand lol
__________________

__________________
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ch_l33tsig.jpg
crazybeans is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 06:22 PM   #43 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

but thats more ur PSU has to put out, more heat, more cooling... and just too much ****
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 06:24 PM   #44 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

ehh . . . it could be for a server or something . . ..
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 06:25 PM   #45 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233
Default

Well, I went the extra mile to get a 550w PSU, now it would be a shame to waste that extra power now wouldn't it :P
__________________
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ch_l33tsig.jpg
crazybeans is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 06:25 PM   #46 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

but its whatever u want... but like ive said B4.. I.. I.. I, would just get TWO 250GB harddrives.. but then again, i wouldnt get more than 1 HD.. and like ive said B4, again.. THATS you, YOURS.. ive said this about 100 times.. and u keep sayin more.. when i dont need to hear more
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 06:27 PM   #47 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

ehh, this is more cost effective . . .

it doesnt matter . . .

i mean . . .you can get 1GB of memory any way . . .

4 x 256

2 x 512

1 x 512, 2 x 256

still . . . its still 1GB . . . one way may cost more . . . another may cost less . . .

still gets the job done
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 06:33 PM   #48 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233
Default

you started it lol. You knocked my extremely large capacity (~0.5 Terabyte) and I had to defend it. So take what I said or leave it. I find having large capacity makes my system ready for the long run. Future games will all be on DVDs up to 9GB. Install a few, or alot, of these games and 0.5TB doesn't really sound like that much space.
__________________
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ch_l33tsig.jpg
crazybeans is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 06:41 PM   #49 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

well to me... 500GB sounds like alot.. considerin i have a 80GB harddrive right now and i still have over 70% free space.. but im still d/lin more games n stuff.. so when you think about it... 500GB of space sounds like alot.. cuz ur prolly not gonna keep games on ur PC now when all those DVD games that take 9GB of space come out.. but still i think 500GB of space sounds like alot.. and once again, i guess thats just me
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 06:41 PM   #50 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

hes right . . . (crazybeans)

i mean, with all the gfx and sound games today and in the future will have, theres no doubt that games may have to come on TWO dvds!

i mean, ever heard of moores law?
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.