Hummm..Petabytes? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2004, 05:22 PM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 19
Default

Creator Takes His Bow...
__________________

vector_anomaly is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 05:31 PM   #32 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well I for one would like a petabyte simply for the fact that I'd never run out Assuming that for whatever reason defragging and/or formatting it doesn't take a year to complete would be nice, and also assuming they created some 'failsafe' thing which is impossible, cause I'd sure hate for my petabyte drive to fail even if I had only filled up 500mb lol. As for 'downloading the internet' yeah well the closest you could get would be having like an OC-128 connection which bill gates probably has a personal one going to his house, but yeah with that thing they said you could download the library of congress in about a minute, but that's NOTHING compared to the size of "The Internet" , but as shoobie said, it's mostly scripts, and MySQL databases with a lot of user informations on places like amazon which are a majority of the sites
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 05:50 PM   #33 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I would have to download techist.com (including MySQL db) everytime somebody posts a new reply. LOL
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 11:11 PM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Quote:
I would have to download techist.com
BTW, how much space has TF occupied until now ? Anyone , Mods?

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 01:16 AM   #35 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Also I read a thing, similar to the DNA article, regarding being able to put information in a brain cell. I believe it could hold like one million billion gigabytes of data if they could actually write info to it lol, I don't know it was pretty freakin insane. It was based off of 'How fast is our brain in comparison to processors' and 'how much storage capacity does our brain have?'
I don't know what you read, but it has no reality. Cells cannot hold anywhere near that amount in their current states, although direct comparisons are bound to be difficult.
Smauler is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 01:35 AM   #36 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Default

Re : "downloading the internet". I personally write interactive pages, in PHP, and the page is only created on a request, and it entirely depends on what that request is. For example, I have a fantasy football site which allows users to compare any number of player's performance in a graph, which is generated dynamically. To get all the results would be impossible. Also, the jpeg (or was it a png, probably png) graph is itself generated directly from user input, thus can't be replicated without the same inputs. Dynamic content is what the web is becoming, static pages don't exist any more.
Smauler is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 03:03 AM   #37 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You could run PHP on your own PC.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-25-2004, 06:05 AM   #38 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Default

I know, and have done (although it's generally less hassle ftping up and down and testing externally than setting up a complete server just for that purpose IMO). The point I was trying to make though was that there are very few of the possible pages that have been seen by anybody, because it's created on the fly, on requests. The two top stikers of the division may have been compared more than once, but the system allows any player to be compared with any other... and I know there are more than 400 players there, so that makes at least tens of thousands of different graphs. It's not too clever a page either... the point I was making was that "the net" cannot be recorded since it would take unbelievable amounts of space to record all possible choices by the viewer. Much of the "net" has never been, and will never be seen because there will be no requests for it.
Smauler is offline  
Old 11-29-2004, 09:00 AM   #39 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
i must commend you all for keeping this thread in a very informative and thoughtful way
Aw crap...I knew there was something I'd forgotten to do! :freak:
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.