Hughes net - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2007, 10:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Default Hughes net

Anyone know how to set up Hughes net satallite? I am in Southeast Virginia, just had a new roof put on my house and wanted to try to set the dish back up with out having to pay the 100 bucks or so they want to charge me. The service hasnt been all that great and I am not recommending them to anyone but it all I can get out where I live, cable and dsl not available here yet and dial up is S L O W.

I got 4 more months to pay for this crap and wanted to try to re set it by myself. Any clues or hints ?

nitemoves11 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 08:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Hughes net

set up how? you could put a pole in the ground and the dish on it....BUT

i am not sure how accurate this is, but could do it yourself. Then they started requiring professional installation.

so...I don't really know what's what. But it's not all that hard to set up...just depends on how you want to set up physically...or talking about setting up the deck...etc

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 08:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Try again!
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Hughes net

I doubt you will want to do it yourself. Don't quote me, but I'm sure they have to have the signal receiver on the dish set at a certain angle, and if it's not, then it might not work.

Satellite isn't that good either - for online gaming, anyway.
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 07-19-2007, 11:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Hughes net

Its already put together, I just need to get it lined up correct for the signal. Was just shooting in the dark to see if someone had Hughes net and or was an installer for them and could give me pointing directions and tips for adjustments
nitemoves11 is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 01:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
veedubfreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Hughes net

The system should have a signal monitor in it. You set the dish up facing south (at least thats what it was on my old direct tv) and then fine tune it using the signal monitor on the box/tv. They require professional installation because thats an easy way to get 100+ bucks out of new customers.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.