Is HT the only thing Intel has got going for them? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2004, 01:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default Is HT the only thing Intel has got going for them?

After reading many forums and tests, I have to come to the conclusion that Intel is getting messed up. I was planning to get a P4 LGA 3.0 GHz after Christmas, but now I am having so many doubts.

Is there any reason to go with Intel? (I need some good ones, because if not I'm going AMD 64 3000+)
__________________

persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 02:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Please respond to this.
I need an answer before soon because I'm building my new computer.
__________________

persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 02:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I would suggest AMD over intel. The 64 3000+ will be much better than what intel has to offer. Go for an AMD cpu. Look for a 939 socket cpu and mobo, for better upgrading options in the future. Its as simple as that.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 02:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Does AMD perform with everyday applications?
I usually use my computer for Internet, word processing, and other everyday applications, with the occasional gaming. Does AMD suit my needs?

I think I would benefit from hyper-threading, but how much of a difference is there? Will I still be able to use my applications at a high speed with good performance?
persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 02:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

AMD will suit those needs. AMD runs cheaper when considering the mobo and cpu over an intel mobo and cpu. The only plus to the ht technology is the 'ability' to perform as it has two cpu's. AMD will everything just as well.

The ht technology is useful with large video or picture editing.

Go with AMD.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 01:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Go AMD.
HTT, 64bit, more bang for buck
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 02:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default

I heard from some guy on this forum that AMD comes with HT.... wtf.... or are the AMD XP's have HT... confused....
__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 02:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Intel has HT (hyperthreading)
AMD has HTT (hypertransport)
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 02:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default

so what's the difference between a ht and a htt?
__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 02:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

HT is like dual CPU.. but its only 1 CPU.. it acts like dual CPU, one CPU is virtual though... so it can run 2 threads at the same time.

HTT is a feature to improve bandwidth between CPU and chipset

google for more info
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.