HP TouchSmart 816 Question about coax input connection - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2008, 09:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 41
Default HP TouchSmart 816 Question about coax input connection

I believe the HPTouchsmart accepts hdtv signal through the coax right?
I want to connect my xbox 360 and maybe another device to it with hd resolution not using the s video port. Is there an external tuner of some sort that will convert HDMI, Component signal to coax digitally to my hp? if so, can anyone recommend brands or sites were a can order one regardless of price, unless its more than 300 bucks or so.. thankyou!
__________________

aaron09658 is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 09:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: HP TouchSmart 816 Question about coax input connection

You are talking about this pc just to confirm;
HP® Official Store — Buy an HP TouchSmart IQ816 and IQ816t series desktop PC from HP
It uses essentially a laptop strapped to the back of the monitor and from the photos I can't see any possible video input and due to the limited space it is unlikely you will be able to add a pci video card. I can't see any coax port on the pics might be because its lost in the glossy black finish and coax is ancient technology, I wouldn't suspect them to put a coax port on such a new pc more likely an s-video which would probably be output only. Could you take a pic of it.
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 10:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 41
Default Re: HP TouchSmart 816 Question about coax input connection

thanks for replying.

it has a coax port

under the Brings photos, movies and music to life section it says: Watch, pause, rewind, and record live TV with the dual-format NTSC or over-air ATSC high-definition tuner.

heres the setup im wanting.

console > external tuner > going through coax cable > hp coax port

or a usb tv tuner will also work that has at least component connections and 720p resolution. thankyou for your help!
__________________

THERMALTAKE LANBOX LITE
ASUS 18X DVD+/-R DVD BURNER WITH LIGHT SCRIBE
GIGABYTE LGA 775 NVIDIA GEFORCE MICRO ATX 610I
SEAGATE BARRACUDA 250GB 7200 RPM
A-DATA 4GB ( 2X2GB) DDR2-800
INTEL 6600 DUO CONROE @ 2.4 GHZ
MICROSOFT WINDOWS VISTA ULTIMATE
8800 GTX EVGA
600 WATT COOLER MASTER POWER SUPPLY
22 INCH VIEWSONIC MONITOR WSXGA+ (1680X1050)
aaron09658 is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 10:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: HP TouchSmart 816 Question about coax input connection

Ok thats easy then you need to use a rf modulator that accepts component input which creates a coax analogue signal output then just plug it in and your set to go may be issues with running your monitor at non standard resolutions mind and some lag as th pc secondarily processes the video signal. Now go off into google and find the items at there cheapest prices.....

You could alternatively use a xga box but these usually only convert to vga so you would then need a vga to coax adapter.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
COD WAW in 2 weeks Dauntae PC Gaming 8 10-27-2008 04:18 PM
HiJack This Log review opageorges HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 05-13-2008 07:26 PM
How to watch tv on a monitor without coax connection? pinoy3000 Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 09-04-2007 03:53 AM
xbox live connection speed question AMD6415 Microsoft XBox 19 06-01-2007 03:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.