hp System Recovery - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2005, 01:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Question hp System Recovery

I wanted to reformat my computer, but then found out that you have to have your OS on a disk to boot it from later on. The problem is that when I bought my computer Wndows XP was already installed and I didn't get it on a back up disk.

I was searching on my computer how to reformat and I found instructions on how to do a system recovery. It says that it returns the computer to the orginal software it had when it was shipped from the factory. Does this mean that it would be all the software that was on it when I first connected it and started it up? (Excluding Norton Security, I know I would have to reinstall that) I bought my computer from Best Buy and I don't know if they installed the OS or if hp did, would it matter?

I just want to make my computer how it was when I got it so any viruses are deleted and to clean up my harddrive. So, if I'm not on the right track to doing this, any suggestions would be appreciated. :-)
Thanks for your help in advance
__________________

Passive is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

It'll make it just like when you bought it. But can't be guaranteed the virus will be gone. HP installed the os. Why not just delete viruses from norton?
__________________

__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 03:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

If you really want to format your machine, i'd do a scan for viruses, and backup any inportant data before you format- even if it's a Windows XP Repair (or HP / Compaq System Recovery- the same method is used).

Nearly all HP / Compaq machines with pre-installed Operating Systems, have a partitioned section on the Hard Drive containing HP backup data- this includes the Operating System and original drivers and software. The 'recovery partition' is factory default, and if you have one you should see a drive labelled 'recovery' in My Computer. This recovery partition allows you to re-install or repair your Windows XP partition, straight from your Hard Drive. Usually, you'd see a notice below POST splash screen, when you first turn on your PC displaying:' Press F10 for System Recovery' or something along those lines.

Also, most HP / Compaq machines with pre-installed Operating Systems, have an inbuilt PC Help & Tools in Start > Programs > Accessories >. If you don't see this, then you probably don't have an integrated recovery partition. If you do, there should be a utility which allows you to make a backup of your recovery partition on compact discs, or DVDs, allowing you to do a system recovery or fresh install of XP if the recovery partition on your Hard Drive becomes damaged.

It could be that your system doesn't have a recovery partition. In that case, it should have come supplied with a recovery CD. It could also be that you have no recovery partition because you've formatted your drive completely once before- but this would be unlikely.

I'd check the HP website for documentation on your computer. They have an extensive library of support information.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 03:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Norton doesn't do a very good job of ridding the viruses, I might not even have any viruses(which would surprise me) but I also just want to start with a clean slate.

In my drive D there's a recovery icon and I remember seeing something at startup like press F10 or F11 to do a system recovery, which I'll try once I have all my data that I don't want to lose backed up.

Thanks for the help, I'll also check the HP website.
Passive is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 03:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Okay...

...that would be your recovery partition. Before you do anything, you might use the Compaq Recovery CD-DVD Creator to create a set of recovery discs using your recovery partition.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 04:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

if u want better virus protection, try Grisoft. www.grisoft.com
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 04:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Yes there should be a program in your start menu called HP/Compaq Recovery Media Creator, or something similar, just use that to make your restore discs.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 11:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks everyone. Yeah, in my start menu there is HP PC Recovery CD-DVD Creator, so I'll make a recovery disk as soon as I go to wal-mart tomorrow and buy some dvds.

Quote:
Originally posted by dhw200 if u want better virus protection, try Grisoft. www.grisoft.com
Thanks for the suggestion, I'll look into that.
__________________

Passive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.