HP Recovery Disc question! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2007, 04:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 126
Default HP Recovery Disc question!

Hi, first time on these forums

Now that that is out of the way, i was wondering if there is any way that i can use my HP Recovery discs to restore my OS, drivers etc. WITHOUT deleting all my files. I understand all my programs will be uninstalled, but that`s no biggie. I have many files dear to me which i have no means of backing up (about 100gb worth).

Any help would be appreciated!
__________________

__________________
Forever stuck in the learning process

Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2GHZ
4GB OCZ Platinum
Nvidia 8800gt 718/1061
Nvidia 6200LE
Maxtor 250 GB Sata
Windows XP Pro 32 Bit
650W Coolermaster
Monitor one: Acer 22" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor two: Xplio 17" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor three: Samsung 50" HDTV
Aesrin is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 06:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

What is the problem that you are having right now, PC won't boot into the OS?
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 07:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 263
Default

wondering, here, too, why you are wanting to do this. Perhaps there is a better way to resolve the issue with which you are dealing.
__________________
---
penfold

www.futurelooks.com/
www.megatechnews.com
penfold is offline  
Old 03-02-2007, 08:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 126
Default

I apologize, it seems my post was lacking detail

I recently installed vista, and i hate it! Driver problems up the ying-yang, plus i cannot load certain programs for they were created for xp

I am trying to get my XP back without losing all my files, and i was told the only way to do this was to use my recovery disc(s). I was also told that the recovery discs restore the computer back to factory settings, deleting all files

My computer was bought at clearance, and so i have no XP discs, only the hp recovery discs
__________________
Forever stuck in the learning process

Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2GHZ
4GB OCZ Platinum
Nvidia 8800gt 718/1061
Nvidia 6200LE
Maxtor 250 GB Sata
Windows XP Pro 32 Bit
650W Coolermaster
Monitor one: Acer 22" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor two: Xplio 17" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor three: Samsung 50" HDTV
Aesrin is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 01:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 126
Default

Is there no one out there able to help me ._.
__________________
Forever stuck in the learning process

Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2GHZ
4GB OCZ Platinum
Nvidia 8800gt 718/1061
Nvidia 6200LE
Maxtor 250 GB Sata
Windows XP Pro 32 Bit
650W Coolermaster
Monitor one: Acer 22" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor two: Xplio 17" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor three: Samsung 50" HDTV
Aesrin is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 04:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Did you perform an UPGRADE to VISTA, or install it on a seperate partition of the hard drive? Was this a PURCHASED version, or pirated?
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 05:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 126
Default

This was a purchased version, NOT an upgrade (a full version). I did a clean install, formatting my hard drive and all that good stuff. I did not install it on a separate partition.
__________________
Forever stuck in the learning process

Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2GHZ
4GB OCZ Platinum
Nvidia 8800gt 718/1061
Nvidia 6200LE
Maxtor 250 GB Sata
Windows XP Pro 32 Bit
650W Coolermaster
Monitor one: Acer 22" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor two: Xplio 17" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor three: Samsung 50" HDTV
Aesrin is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 06:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

If you did a clean install, and formated the hard drive, any files that WERE there, would have been wiped out at that point.... Did you have a seperate drive or disc's that the files were stored on prior to your formatting the HDD and installing Vista?
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 07:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 126
Default

I have another hard drive that i cannot seem to successfully hook up to my computer. It is an ata 100 drive. I backed up all my files onto this hard drive using a hard drive enclosure (the ata is internal) which i borrowed from a friend of mine. My friend lost his hard drive enclosure (so he says) and so i cannot retrieve my files this time. If there is no other way to get XP back without losing all my files, i will buy an enclosure for my old ata drive.

But i would really rather not have to go out and spent 50$ on something when it is not necessary !
__________________
Forever stuck in the learning process

Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2GHZ
4GB OCZ Platinum
Nvidia 8800gt 718/1061
Nvidia 6200LE
Maxtor 250 GB Sata
Windows XP Pro 32 Bit
650W Coolermaster
Monitor one: Acer 22" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor two: Xplio 17" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor three: Samsung 50" HDTV
Aesrin is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 08:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

HP / Compaq offer a recovery mode known as 'non-destructive recovery'. A non-destructive recovery replaces the system files with the original OS files, leaving your personal data files (like files in my documents) intact. It's the same as Windows XP Repair.

However, it is not possible to perform a non-destructive recovery using the HP recovery discs because you currently have Windows Vista installed, not the original OEM operating system which the recovery CDs have written on them (Windows XP).

The same goes with Windows XP Repair. If you have Windows Vista installed, you can't use the repair function of a Windows XP Home Edition disc to install Windows XP onto the PC, because there is a different OS installed.

The only solution I can think of is backing up your data on a seperate medium, then re-installing Windows XP using the HP recovery discs.

I was going to suggest creating a new partition on the drive, shifting all the files you want salvaging onto that partition, then installing the OS using the HP recovery discs. But unfortunately this wouldn't work because HP recovery would format the drive entirely, then create two partitions (a recovery partition, and the OS partition), meaning that the partition you created with all your backed up data files would be lost.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.